What if You Slip?

I was walking the rail trail with a friend who is also a client doing my 7-Week Fitness Plan yesterday morning.  It was a brisk 6 miles that invigorated us to begin our day.  She had planned to bring me her food logs so I could evaluate them and give her some insight as to why she seemed to be in a plateau.

She said she didn’t bring the log because she was embarrassed that she went off on the weekend (Mother’s Day weekend).  I want to tell you just what I told her.

Life is for living and being so rigid that you can’t take a day here and there to celebrate and enjoy foods you don’t normally have is counterproductive.  If you have the mindset that you can NEVER have (cheesecake, donuts, ice cream, lasagna – whatever your “favorite” is) you will hit the wall!  You will be overcome with your cravings and they will get the best of you.

Never tell yourself “never.”  You can eat any food you want to.  God tells us no food that we receive with thanksgiving is to be refused.  Of course, eating a clean, whole food diet most of the time is the best strategy to stay healthy.  But can you go off periodically without doing much harm?

I believe the answer is “Yes!”  Sometimes a day or two of that type of eating shakes your body out of complacency and gets the scale moving in the right direction.  If you eat properly 80-90% of the time – the other 10-20% will not harm your efforts.

And you will relax and enjoy life more – that’s why I don’t call it a “diet” but a plan.  So, if you are wondering if I splurged and strayed from the plan – let’s just say the strawberry cheesecake my husband and kids got me for Mother’s Day was delicious!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What if You Slip?

  1. phatpast says:

    Good article and good advice.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

