Bumping Up Nutrition in Burgers

Burgers are a quick and easy meal and if you use lean ground meat, a healthy one as well.  I love burgers and like Rachel Ray I flavor them differently each time.  My favorite meat to use is ground chicken.  I just love the texture it gives the burgers.  But I make burgers from ground lamb, veal (my son, Matt’s favorite!), chicken, turkey, bison and lean beef.

My basic add-ins to bump up nutrition are usually finely chopped baby bella mushrooms, thawed, chopped spinach that’s been squeezed dry and grated zucchini.  Especially when you use chicken or turkey which must be thoroughly cooked through, they keep the burgers moist.  Whatever you have on hand is great – chopped onions, scallions, celery, red bell pepper, grated carrots – you’re limited only by your imagination. 

I use whatever seasoning strikes my fancy – chili powder, chipotle powder, sage, cumin, rosemary, granulated garlic, Chinese 5 Spice, basil, oregano, onion powder – any and all!  I mix and match freely and I’ve never had anyone complain.  You can make Mexican burgers, Italian burgers or Greek burgers.

The Greek burgers (as I am of Greek descent) are a favorite in my house.  I use the standard add-ins with the addition of crumbled feta, oregano, garlic and basil.  They are awesome!

My secret add-in that really bumps up nutrition is boiled, pureed lentils.  Yes. Lentils.  They add protein, fiber and texture.  If you’re worried about the family noticing – as long as you boil them for about 30 minutes and puree them thoroughly they melt into the meat – they’ll never know!  Enjoy!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

