Easy Way to Get Your 5 Servings A Day

Something I hear from people all the time is how difficult it is to include 5 servings of fruits and vegetables in their meal plan daily.  Besides eating a delicious, raw salad that includes a variety of fresh vegetables with lunch or dinner and eating a piece or two of fresh fruit as a snack, what else can you do?

I like to pack each meal with as much nutrition and variety as I possibly can.  I’ve mentioned before that I bump up the nutritional value of my burgers by including any combination of chopped mushrooms, onions, red bell peppers, shredded zucchini, chopped spinach or whatever other ones I have on hand. 

I like to start the day with a nutrient-dense meal and when it’s eggs I add as many vegetables as possible.  Whatever I have on hand is fair game in my omelets including mushrooms, red peppers, onions, left-over roasted broccoli, brussels sprouts, green beans and grape tomatoes.  It not only makes them delicious, but so much more nutritious.  I use a variety of herbs and spices like cumin, tumeric, black pepper, chipotle seasoning and sage.  I love to top my omelet with salsa which just adds even more vege power.

If I have a smoothie for breakfast, I use a green food powder that is loaded with superfoods to begin with.  Adding fruit like a banana or peaches, mangoes, cherries, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries or a pear makes it taste more like dessert.  I also love including chopped spinach and sprouts.  If you have a powerful blender you can even include other vegetables like celery or lettuce.

Chia, flax and hemp seeds, as well as cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves take it to another level.

When you pack each meal with a variety of nutrient-dense foods in this way, you’ll find you meet your daily requirements effortlessly.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

