It’s Greek to Me!

I happen to like yogurt and I especially love the Greek yogurts that are now available in the supermarkets.  Many years ago when I visited Greece with my family we had dessert at one of the many, beautiful outdoor cafes.  I remember having a dish with rich, creamy plain yogurt topped with a drizzle of honey and sprinkled with chopped walnuts.  It was absolutely decadent!

I recommend my clients include plain, Greek yogurt in their meal plans as it can provide the basis for a beautiful breakfast (or dessert) parfait, the base for a healthy dip for fruits or vegetables and a very healthy snack.

I learned something interesting about Greek yogurt.  The reason it is so much thicker and creamier than most regular yogurts is because the excess milk is strained out leaving the whey protein solids behind.  That means not only is it creamier, thicker and richer, it has nearly two times the protein content of regular yogurt. 

One cup of Greek yogurt has 23 grams of protein compared to 12 grams in regular yogurt.  It also has fewer carbs (9 grams versus 17 in other yogurts).

So, next time you buy yogurt, consider buying Greek-style yogurt.  It’s available in pretty much all supermarkets and some brands are Oikos, Chobani and Fage.  If plain is too tart for you, just put a few drops of stevia, a teaspoon of vanilla extract and some cinnamon and it’s every bit as good and the high sugar, flavored ones and much healthier!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

