Don’t Overlook White Mushrooms!

We are encouraged to stay away from “white” foods – white bread, rice, flour, sugar, potatoes, pasta, etc. and I believe that is good advice in general.  But I read an article about a study that appeared in the Journal of Nutrition about the health benefits of white mushrooms that I thought was interesting.

I love including mushrooms in my recipes – I chop them finely and add to meatloaf and burgers, cook sliced mushrooms in pasta sauce and omelets and slice raw mushrooms on my salad.

I usually opt for baby bella, shitake and Portobello mushrooms.  My thinking was that they were more nutritious than plain, old white button mushrooms.  I was wrong! 

Mushrooms in general are excellent immune enhancing foods.  Studies revealed that plain, old white button mushrooms promote immune system function by increasing production and release of antiviral and other critical proteins that protect and repair damaged tissue. They enhance the cells in bone marrow that produce T-cells – white blood cells that scavenge and destroy bacterial invaders!

So, don’t overlook plain, old white button mushrooms.  They are every bit as healthy as their darker, more exotic counterparts.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

