Are You Getting “Sappier” in Your Old Age?

You’re probably thinking being “sappy” is a bad thing – but it really is a good thing in the way I mean it. I came across a wonderful scripture recently and it got me thinking about that cliché –you know, you’re not getting older, you’re getting better. While that really is a cliché – scripturally it is how God intended it to be!

Here the verse that started it all: Psalm 104:16 says: “The trees of the Lord are watered abundantly and are filled with sap…”

I got to thinking about that and started looking at how the Lord describes believers.

In several places God describes us as trees. I like how the Amplified describes us: In Psalm 1 we are “like a tree firmly planted and tended by the streams of water, ready to bring forth its fruit in its season; its leaf also shall not fade or wither; and everything he does shall prosper and come to maturity.” And Psalm 92:12 says: “The uncompromisingly righteous shall flourish like the palm tree (be long-lived, stately, upright, useful and fruitful); they shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon (majestic, stable, durable and incorruptible).

I don’t know about you – but that’s exactly how I want to be described!

As if that wasn’t wonderful enough Jeremiah 17:8 says: “For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters that spreads out is roots by the river; and it shall not see and fear when heat comes; but its leaf shall be green. It shall not be anxious and full of care in the year of drought, nor shall it cease yielding fruit.

It got me wondering just what sap does and why it is so important. I found that sap consists primarily of water, (that explains always being planted by rivers or streams) in addition to sugar, hormones, nutrients and mineral elements dissolved within it. In early spring, while many trees are still dormant, fluctuating temperatures may affect the flow of tree sap. Warmer weather produces pressure within the tree, which can sometimes cause the tree sap to flow from the tree through openings produced from cracks or injury. During cold weather, when temperatures fall below freezing, the tree pulls water up through the roots, replenishing the tree sap until the weather stabilizes.

The sap is an indicator of health. Only healthy, vigorous trees still capable of bearing fruit are filled with sap. The age of the tree doesn’t matter. In fact in some trees, like coconut trees, the older the tree the more sap it has! While scripture doesn’t specifically mention coconut trees, I believe that’s how we are meant to be as we mature.

So my goal is to become “sappier” as I grow older! How about you?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

