How Much “Bling” is in You? Part One

What comes to mind when you hear the word “bling?”  Flashy, shiny jewelry, right?  So what does that have to do with being truly healthy?  Maybe more than you ever realized?

I heard a wonderful teaching by Joel Osteen and the analogy he used was how a speck of sand causes a constant irritation, which the oyster or other mollusk uses to create a pearl.  He talked about how we can use the little (or big) irritations in our lives and turn them into pearls that make us stronger and more Christ-like.  It got me to thinking…

Pearls are my birthstone and I love that analogy because who among us doesn’t deal with irritations pretty much on a daily basis.   The formation of a natural pearl begins when a foreign substance like a grain of sand is able to slip into the oyster between the mantle and the shell, causing irritation.  So the oyster releases something called nacre to surround that irritation, taking a “foreign substance,” something that rubs it the wrong way so to speak and creates something beautiful and valuable as it protects itself from further damage.

We can do the same thing – use that “irritation” – whether it’s offensive, hurtful words or actions and allow God’s spirit to enable us to turn them into something valuable and beautiful.  Whenever we stop before merely reacting in our natural way to an irritation and acknowledge God’s Spirit, asking Him to show us a better way to respond, we are releasing spiritual nacre.  Whenever we do good to those who treat us badly or bless those who hurt us, overlook an offense or believe the best of someone, no matter how it looks – we’re creating pearls from those irritating grains of sand!

What does that have to do with being truly healthy?  Well, react in anger, frustration and upset often enough to those “irritations” and we risk creating high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke, heart attack and ulcers instead of the “pearl” of a gentle and quiet spirit! No matter who you are or what irritation comes your way today – there’s a pearl inside you just waiting to be formed.  What’s creating a pearl for you today?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Soul Health, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Much “Bling” is in You? Part One

  1. I just love the soothing nature of this idea. Rather than getting all bristly, which still happens too often, I will have to remember to “be the oyster.” 🙂

    It’s funny you linked this up. Earlier today I was being ungrateful because of the falling snow and ice (I know-big surprise in December in New England) that I had to shovel. Now instead of saying Grrrrrrrrr, I will say “Great! I am healthy enough to shovel and am getting some necessary exercise and fresh air.” Thanks for the switch in perspective, Ann!

    • amusico says:

      Thanks for your comment Kim. It’s not always easy to do – and I certainly don’t get it right every time – but I find myself seeing things that would’ve aggravated me differently. By the way, shoveling ice and snow would’ve definitely been one of them! Not my favorite thing.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

