100% Natural Foods – What Does That REALLY Mean?

Foods labeled “100% natural” can legally contain genetically modified (GM) ingredients? Bet you didn’t know that!  I didn’t. There really is no specific definition for what constitutes “natural food” on a processed food label.  It basically means nothing beyond being a marketing trick to make unsuspecting people think what they are purchasing is healthy.  Only USDA certified organic processed foods must be GM-free.

Regardless of where you’re shopping – whether it’s at a grocery store, large chain like Walmart or a farmer’s market, if you are buying processed packaged food and want to make the healthiest choice possible, there are some guidelines you can follow.

The foundational, basic principle is this:  educate yourself and carefully read labels!

Here are 5 specific things to consider:

  1. Be sure it’s grown without pesticides and chemical fertilizers.  This can actually be true of organic as well as some non-organic foods.
  2. Especially true of meat and poultry, it should be clearly marked that it contains no added growth hormones, antibiotics, or vaccines and is raised humanely, in accordance with the laws of nature.  Animals are fed their native diets (that means no GMO feed or plants) and have free-range access to the outdoors.
  3. If it lists artificial anything – pass on it.
  4. Sticking with whole foods is your best bet. In a processed food, like a nut butter for instance, it will not have a long list of ingredients – simply the nuts, possibly sea salt – and that’s it.  Always go for foods with the shortest list of ingredients you can actually pronounce and recognize!
  5. For produce – choose what looks fresh.  Sometimes fresh local produce looks better than organic.

My overall recommendation is to look for the freshest foods in the least processed form.  That’s why I encourage you to focus your diet on nutrient-dense, fresh, whole foods as much as you can.  It’s also why I am proud to be an independent mission marketer for Beyond Organic.  I look for the highest quality I can afford for myself, my family and my clients.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 100% Natural Foods – What Does That REALLY Mean?

  1. onthewayhome says:

    That first paragraph was very interesting…I didn’t know any of that! I’m glad that I do now.

  2. Jim Finn says:

    These information really helps, if you are in a grocery store check the labels of the products and what does it contain. Always read the label and make sure it is totally 100% naturally grown from local farmers or growers. natural foods

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

