What’s the Big Deal About Nutrition?

I am constantly talking about fueling your body properly, nourishing yourself at the cellular level with the highest quality, fresh, whole, nutrient-dense foods and eliminating the junk/processed/packaged foods.  I know a lot of people would rather use one of the diet plans that let you eat cake and sweets every day for a snack or dessert.   So many people I talk to tell me they just like those “foods” (and believe me I use the term loosely) and as long as they balance it out with some healthy food – it’s all good.  Right?

Well, maybe not.  We are all metabolically unique.  You know you are a one of a kind, Designer original – that includes your physical make up as well.  We all know there are also genetic factors – what we inherit from our parents, grandparents, etc.  But studies have shown that even if you have a propensity to develop a certain disease – like heart disease or diabetes – your lifestyle, habits and nutrition can change that. 

Well I saw a fascinating video of Dr. Terry Wahls, who was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) which had progressed to the point where she was in a wheelchair. She began studying nutrition and how she could properly fuel her body to reverse her MS.  And she did!

It’s an amazing video that I believe will convince you of the importance of proper nutrition.  As they say a picture is worth a thousand words!   For me, it definitely confirmed that nutrition is the most critical piece of the puzzle and one we can actually control to a great degree, if we choose to.

Would you take a few minutes and watch the video and let me know if it changes your mind about how you eat?

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Children's Health, Diabetes, Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s the Big Deal About Nutrition?

  1. onthewayhome says:

    Nicely put; however, I would love to eat cake and sweets and lose some weight!

  2. amusico says:

    Haha – who wouldn’t – unfortunately it just doesn’t work that way.

  3. Ann,

    Wow! Thank you so much for sharing this video. I know someone with MS and he has tried so many things — drugs, crazy diets, etc. I look forward to having the opportunity to share this video with him.

    I was proud of myself for getting SOME fruits and vegetables every day and now I realize that I need to do more. I guess I’m going to have to start drinking my health shakes multiple times a day to get 3 plates full of greens and other vegetables. Yikes!

    Thanks again for sharing this information.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne Clements
    http://www.VictoryChristianCoaching.com

  4. amusico says:

    Thanks Marianne – my brother-in-law has MS – but you know how it goes – a “prophet” is not honored in their home town…they are not particularly open to what I share, unfortunately. But I hope your friend is!

  5. Ann,

    I pray God provides an opportunity for you to share this video with him. The Holy Spirit will do the rest.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne Clements
    http://www.VictoryChristianCoaching.com

  6. Incredible… It’s amazing that 80% of the people are not getting the Omega 3 they need. I need to question my own now. I learned something new as it relates to jaw structure, crooked teeth, and smaller brains. Wow!… All great information, and I’m really liking the hunter/gatherer diet idea right now… Thanks again Ann…

    • amusico says:

      It’s actually frightening to learn what is in the food supply in this country but at the same time it explains, at least in part, why so many people are sick and just getting sicker!

  7. Michael Good says:

    Nutrition is something my wife, Claudia, and I have given a lot of thought to. I think it’s amazing how much nutrition effects the rest of our lives!

  8. Rob Coburn says:

    Ann, wow what a post. Thanks for sharing this. We have a history of Heart issues in my family and we have seen great improvement by way of diet, but we have a long way to go. This challenges me as well as gives me great hope for the future. Omega3 is the key and I need much more than I get now. Thanks for posting. Blessings, @missioncoach

  9. Michael says:

    Ann,
    Thanks for much for your post! I sent the video to my mother in law in hopes she’ll forward to her brother who has the beginning stages of MS. It’s also of interest to me as Autism is a neurological issue – we have given my daughter Cod Liver Oil and Fish Oil supplements for awhile, but slacked off of that in the past year. The naturopath told us to all get on it.
    We went on a 5 day vacation to Disney World this past week and not having good access to my veggies and fruit, instead choosing to eat the park food and eating out for 5 days – UGGG…I felt terrible when we got back! I went to the store today and stocked up on my carrots, lettuce, spinach and sweet potatoes.
    On another note, it was interesting that our friend told us the “Fountain of Youth” is said to be in Florida, where the sulfur content in the water is high….hmmmm.
    Michael

    • amusico says:

      I hope your mother in law and her brother watch the video – I found it fascinating and hopeful – my brother in law has MS and a dear friend had it as well. The omega fats are so critical! And it’s amazing what a difference it makes when you’re off your regular diet. Thanks for sharing, Michael.

  10. Cam says:

    Hi Ann,
    While the video didn’t ‘change’ my mind about how I eat, it does validate many of the decisions I have made on how to eat.
    Thanks for sharing the video. It is amazing the growing body of evidence that points to our health (& brain) being affected by what we eat. (what a concept :))
    ~Cam

  11. Hi Ann,
    I have to admit, 17 minutes out of my weekday was hard to part with, but I must say this was very educational. We don’t get NEAR 9 cups each as a family of six. Being on a strict intentional budget doesn’t make it easy, but I will have to say this was very eye opening. I am not committing whole heartedly yet, but wanted to let you know your post will make us start stepping more into the right direction. Within having done an Ironman triathlon, I know what it takes to eat well in order to make one’s body preform at peak performance. It really does make a difference in one’s energy level when we eat right and I believe it is true that long term, it can make our bodies run more efficient and much more healthier by what the video suggests versus the “normal” American diet.
    Just wanted to say thanks for posting. I look forward to learning more baby steps on what ideas we can continue to glean off your wonderful blog.
    Many blessings Ann.
    Jen

    • amusico says:

      Jen I thank you so much for your comments. I know raising a family and having to be on a budget – particularly with the way things are today – makes eating really well difficult. I’ve been there! But taking the baby steps we can – and praying over our food make more of a difference than we realize!

  12. Hi Gang,
    Can’t say I am near 100% of where this video is at, but it certainly peaked my interest as this physician with MS talked about her amazing journey on finding the right foods to eat to make her functional again. If you have a few minutes and are interested in eating healthier, worth your time to watch. Again, it is all baby steps for me…perhaps some others want to join with me.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

