Mental Spring Cleaning

I am not what anyone would consider a fanatic clean freak by any stretch of the imagination (least of all my husband).  In fact he thought it was beyond ironic when I cleaned houses for a time to make extra money while the kids were in school!  But even I love to throw the windows open on those first warm spring days and give the house a good once-over!

It just makes me feel fresh when I’ve scrubbed and dusted until everything around me shines. I like reorganizing drawers and closets and throwing away old magazines and whatever is no longer necessary or useful. Since the first day of spring is tomorrow, March 20th, I’ve been gearing myself up for a good cleaning session and it got me to thinking.

This is a really good time to do some mental spring cleaning as well.  Periodically I think it’s a very good practice to stop and consider any mental baggage we would do well to get rid of.  You know what I’m talking about – negative thoughts and thinking patterns we may have fallen into; old limiting beliefs that may have crept back into our thinking; guilt, shame, fears, doubts and any memories that no longer serve us.

It is “soul detox” in my 3D Living Plan.  Your soul is your mind, will and emotions and periodically inventorying and detoxing those areas will keep you from getting bogged down with garbage.

If cleaning the house can make me feel so fresh and clean, can you imagine how light and free it will feel to clean up those unnecessary and toxic thought patterns?

Is there some mental spring cleaning you need to do?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detox, Soul Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mental Spring Cleaning

  1. Ann, sometimes it seems like the more mental junk I look for, the more I find! I guess that’s good because all that negative weight can really bring you down, down. I too love to get rid of old items and organize. It just brings me the satisfaction that something is in “order”, even if I’m trying to get my mental junk in order.

  2. It’s so cool and ironic that we’re both posting about cleaning given time of year it is, I just posted this one this morning about the time I simplified my office in a dramatic sort of way 🙂 http://www.180coach.com/i-burned-my-way-to-liberation/ – But you are so right! We need to clean house, detox our minds, spirits, and bodies so we can feel that much more alive in the beautiful coming days of Summer…

  3. Ann,

    Everything feels better when it’s clean (in my opinion), so I can certainly see the benefit of having a clean and uncluttered mind. I will keep that in mind when I do some cleaning. Actually, cleaning is a good time to do some good thinking.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne Clements

  4. Michael Good says:

    Great analogy, Ann.

    The problem is that when I do some mental cleaning that my head stops me and says, “Are you sure you can get rid of that? Isn’t there more to it than that? You can’t just throw it away.”

    Sometimes it feels like I need to be stressed out about these different things in order for them to get done. For example, if I have a tough problem to work through, says it’s with finances, I feel like I need to stress about it and have it completely consume me in order for me to be able to tackle and resolve the problem.

    I know this isn’t a healthy way of going about it, but I really think that is my belief. For some reason, I think that if I calmly go about it and think through it give it my best and then leave it go at the end of the day, that that isn’t enough.

    Thanks for the post. Going to do some spring cleaning now and throw out some ugly thoughts. 🙂

    • amusico says:

      You know, Michael, I think the most important thing is to understand yourself, how you are “wired” and how things work best for you. And it seems you have done that. It may seem like it is not the best way to go about it, but if it works for you, who’s to say you must do it differently?

  5. DesignerCam says:

    Great post.
    For a long time, I have done my best to practice the idea to learn from the negatives/challenges in my life, but to not focus on them. Most of the bad stuff has vanished from my memory (perhaps it is bad, but it could also be considered good).

    Thanks for the reminder!
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

