Baby Steps Are Powerful!

One of the principles in my 3D Living Plan and Today’s the Day Seven Week Fitness Plan is “baby steps.”  So often people think unless they make sweeping changes all at once, they will not see results.  But that often backfires.  When you try to change everything all at once, you are much more likely to become overwhelmed, frustrated and give up.

I was very gratified to see that a recent long-term study by the National Cancer Center in Japan confirmed what I’ve been saying all along!  They surveyed 80,000 men and women between 45 and 74 years of age over 10 years.

There were specific criteria for each of 5 cancer risk factors — smoking, drinking, salt intake, exercise and body mass index.  The risk increased if the subjects exceeded those criteria.

The survey concluded that the more healthy habits these subjects had, the lower their cancer risk.  However, they found that just adopting one healthy habit reduced cancer risk by 14% for men and 9% for women.  I think that’s exciting and very encouraging!  You don’t have to change everything – you just have to get started in the right direction and change one thing!

What one thing could you change this week in order to improve your health?

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baby Steps Are Powerful!

  1. Matt Musico says:

    These products are awesome…I would definitely suggest buying them!

  2. I could concentrate on my water intake. Seems like when I do change just one thing, that other things naturally come in line as well. Kind of like a domino effect.

  3. Ann,

    Cute baby! So true — baby steps are so much easier to take than trying to leap 20 yards. I could eat earlier in the day rather than drinking coffee all morning.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne Clements

  4. Claudia Good says:

    Ann,
    So true and so encouraging!!!

    Let’s see… I would get out for a brisk walk everyday. I do often… but would like to every day. I feel sooo much better when I do.

  5. That’s an astonishing statistic! Just one healthy habit… All it takes is a step in the right direction no matter how small, and just be consistent with that. Sooner or later, it all pays off…

  6. Michael Good says:

    Ann, I could exercise more. This helps physically, but especially mentally for me.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

