Good Genes, Bad Genes. Habits or History?

Far too many people take a very fatalistic approach to their health and I sincerely hope you are not among them!  In my opinion and corroborated by this article in Natural News, and many others, family health history has less to do with overall lifelong health than lifestyle choices and habits.  And that’s very good news!

If cancer, diabetes or heart disease “run” in your family, you may think you are doomed to develop those diseases, but I must disagree.  As more and more research and studies are done, they prove beyond any doubt that your habits are much more powerful than your history.

And the earlier you institute healthy habits like eating real, whole food, exercising regularly, learning how to manage stress, avoiding drugs, alcohol and smoking and maintaining a healthy weight, the better your life will be all the way to old age.

So that is why my focus is primarily on women, although I work with a lot of men as well.  We women are most often the ones buying the food, preparing meals and caring for the children.  We MUST start them off right if we want our children to have the best chance for a healthy life.

One other thought and this comes from me – not from any study.  I also believe that when you accept Jesus as Lord you receive a new Blood line.  You no longer have to focus on what your dad or mom or great-granny had.  You have the Blood of Jesus and He is perfect in every way.  I take 1 John 4:17 literally:  “…as He is, so are we in this world.”

Do you focus more on history or habits for your health?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Children's Health, Diabetes, Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Spiritual Health, Weight loss, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Good Genes, Bad Genes. Habits or History?

  1. Matt Musico says:

    Definitely a creature of habit. History means nothing!

  2. Ann, I’ve read that our genetic history stored in our bodies are kinda like switches. They are turned on/off by those habits you mention. I plan to keep those “OFF” as much as I possibly can. And thank you for the reminder of my new bloodline. Sometimes it can get easy to focus on the here and now and the body without keeping things in perspective.

    • amusico says:

      You’re absolutely right, Michael. The genetic predisposition to certain diseases can either be activated by our habits or shut down. We have much more power in this regard than we realize.

  3. Claudia Good says:

    Ann,
    Thanks for the encouraging post! I love this approach because it’s puts us back in control of our lives. Far too often do we believe that we are victims and can’t change because of our past and our circumstances.

    Also, eating healthy, whole foods has changed my life! Michael and I now are very careful about what we put into our bodies and the payoff has been great.

  4. DesignerCam says:

    My personal experience and research shows that habits are way more important than history. As a simple example: If I have really bad habits, I could create a bad history for those who come after me, but if I have great habits, then the history becomes less and less important.

    Similar to genes being one of seven or eight different factors that influence depression, it is the only one that is not a choice in the equation (and more than 4 are needed for a person to actually become depressed).

    Thanks for a great post and reminder!
    ~Cam (aka DesignerCam)

    • amusico says:

      I love what you said about how your habits would create a bad history for those who follow you. Very true and something we often don’t consider – how does what you do affect others.

  5. Ann,

    As you know, I adamantly reject any negative family history. I have seen a lot of people become like their parents just because they believed it. Of course, because they believed it, they adopted the same bad habits that led their parents into bad health.

    One thing is for sure — bad habits won’t create good health regardless of what you believe about your genes!

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  6. This is so refreshing to hear, Ann. We do have some health issues with certain types of cancers in our family history, and there’s always that hidden notion about whether or not something will get passed down. But I believe completely what you’re saying about habits. With the right habits in our daily living, I’m certain that is the best remedy against any passed down cancer gene.

    • amusico says:

      Rob – cancer doesn’t just run in my family – it gallops! But I KNOW that I don’t have to have it and neither do my children. Praise God for a different bloodline and the ability to create healthier habits!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

