Moderation is the Key

I have always counseled clients to limit caffeine intake.  Too much caffeine can hinder your ability to sleep soundly which in turn can cause other problems, and it can also raise blood pressure.  It is also very dehydrating and given the fact that most people do not drink nearly enough water to begin with, it can cause even more problems.

But I have never told a client who enjoys a cup or two of coffee in the morning that they must give it up totally.  Coffee is a “whole food” product and depending on the quality of the coffee you consume and how much, it can definitely be part of a healthy diet. In fact, a cup of coffee before you exercise has been shown to help with weight loss – but that’s black coffee sweetened with something like stevia if desired, not one of those fancy, high calorie, expensive coffee drinks.

This article from Life Extension talks about the benefits of moderate coffee consumption.

Are you a coffee drinker?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Diabetes, Heart Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moderation is the Key

  1. That’s awesome news to me! And I’ve definitely killed my coffee intake by a huge score, but when I do drink it I always drink it black anyway.

  2. Cindy Hirch says:

    Ann – I drink 1-2 cups of coffee a day at the most without any sweeteners. I have learned to appreciate a really good cup of coffee through travels and friends that have brought back different varieties from countries and places they have visited.

  3. I’ve also been trying to reconcile the current research and recommendations about coffee. I actually recently went on a long rant about this on my blog on Friday. I’ve cut myself down to about 1 cup (1 stripe on the coffee pot) in the morning, but still find myself feeling tired later in the day. I’m hoping to eventually cut it out completely, but we’ll see (I do really love a good cup of coffee!)- no more heavy Starbucks drinks for me, though!

    • amusico says:

      As this new research shows, in moderation, and without all the sugar, etc. it can be healthy. Perhaps your body still needs to get used to being without all the caffeine stimulation and then the late day fatigue will pass. Also be sure you are well hydrated drinking enough water – dehydration is the primary cause of fatigue.

  4. fatherofonewebsite says:

    Ann, I gave up my 2 – 3 cups of coffee for the first 2 weeks of Today’s the Plan, but after I achieved great results in so short a time, I added 2 cups back! I just missed it for some reason. I never even touched coffee until my 30’s. I had heard J.J. Virgin mention before that it’s OK to drink coffee as well, but for every cup you drink, drink an extra helping of water to compensate. That’s what I’ve been doing and it seems to be working out good.

  5. Ann,

    I have been a coffee drinker my entire life. In fact, my Mom gave us coffee when we were kids. I know that sounds strange, but she figured if it was ok for her, it was ok for us. She lived to be 83 and was still drinking coffee till the day she died.

    I use Stevia in my coffee, but I use the very unhealthy sugary “creamers”. I gave up coffee for a while, but I enjoy it so much I went back to it. If I was having health issues, I would consider cutting it out completely — especially the fake creamer.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      When my brother and I were kids, my grandmother used to make us “little boats” – she called it that in Greek – chunks of Italian bread with a pat of butter that she floated on her cup of coffee (which had lots of sugar and heavy cream). They were delicious but I suppose it isn’t surprising she had a series of strokes later in life.

  6. Michael Good says:

    Ann,

    I am a coffee drinker. I have one cup of black coffee each morning (occasionally a second one after lunch)!

    That’s great to know that it’s part of a healthy diet.

  7. Cam says:

    I will stand strong among this blogs commenters that I am not a coffee drinker. While the coffee bean may be good, I aim to avoid caffeine in any form because it isn’t healthy.

    However, I have never been a fan of the taste of coffee — even coffee flavored desserts. So that is a bigger reason for my lack of interest. 🙂

    Great article. I can definitely agree with the conclusion that what gets put into the coffee is more important the coffee itself.

    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

