Are You Really…Sick?

I read an article on Dr. Mercola’s site that really made me angry!  It didn’t make me angry because I didn’t agree with him – I did.  It made me angry because I see this trend in our country to take normal emotional or life experiences and make them into “syndromes” or “illnesses” so that a doctor can prescribe a drug to resolve it.

One  that has just recently been called a psychiatric illness is grief.  Really???  We have all experienced grief in one form or another in our lives.  Whether the loss of a loved one to death or divorce or loss of a relationship, home or job – we all experience loss.  Calling the normal, natural emotions that result an “illness” is, in my opinion, ridiculous.

God created us to be feeling, human beings.  The Bible shows in numerous verses that Jesus expressed emotions.  He built them into us and they are not bad, wrong or unnatural.  They are part of our soul for a reason.

The article goes on to list some other activities that could soon be considered “mental illnesses” or psychiatric diseases.  You’ll probably get a kick out of those.  I did.

You know what I think about this.

What do you think?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Soul Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are You Really…Sick?

  1. Matt Musico says:

    Ridiculous. I don’t agree with it either. Just another excuse to use.

  2. Cindy Hirch says:

    Wow…I was floored when i read the article. But it’s so easy to see this trend in today’s society though. Look at the TV ads promoting all these drugs for a variety of ailments….like a pill is going to be the solution to everything ailment you experience.

  3. Ann,

    William and I were just talking about this the other day. I think a big factor in labeling something a disease or illness is because of money — the doctors, psychologists, drug companies, etc. will profit if we label something as a disease or illness. Additionally, labeling something as a disease or illness removes the individual responsibility.

    Grief is definitely not a psychological illness. If someone is suffering from excessive grief, this is more approrpriately labeled as self-pity. This keeps us stuck in the past and keeps us from experiencing the good things that God has in store for us. The Bible gives us good guidelines on grieving.

    I’m glad to see you continuing your normal activities as you grieve the loss of your father-in-law.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      Thank you, Marianne for all your comments – and I agree – labeling something as a disease or illness, opens it up to pharmaceutical companies and doctors to profit by “diagnosing and treating” it.

  4. fatherofonewebsite says:

    Help! I’ve got Internet Addiction Disorder! Do they have a pill for that?? It’s all so ridiculous. People looking to avoid responsibility and take the easy way out.

    I heard Anne Graham Lotz say once that if David from the Old Testament times, had Prozac available, the Psalms never would have been written!

  5. Claudia Good says:

    oh boy…
    Yes, In America a “quick fix” promise to fix anything always sells and if you can be diagnosed with something then you can take a medicine to fix it. So diagnosing everything has grown by leaps and bounds. I am sure I could be on lots of medications for lots of different things if I obsessed over it rather than just lived life and focus on what I am thankful for!

  6. Yes, this is annoys me a bit.. But hey, people are crazy enough to buy into it and take these drugs… At this rate you can put a medical brand around anything and sell it.

    =) I have a condition that might need attention… =) Sometimes I might smile just a little too much to some people I’m sure, =) and that might make some people uncomfortable in their miserable lives, =) so maybe somebody will have to diagnose me with =) Smilelitus =) and give me something to level those face curves just a little bit, so I won’t freak people out so much! =) =) =)

  7. Cam says:

    What strikes me as humoring about this article and the implications behind it is that someone, somewhere thinks they know what “normal” behavior is suppose to be, and they have the belief that with “normal” defined, everyone must have the opportunity to attain it.

    However, a pill is never the solution, because solving one problem with a pill brings at least 5x more side effects that then need to be balanced. It is sad to think that this is the way the industry has gone. Is there a drug for this that doesn’t cause more problems than it’s worth? 😉

    • amusico says:

      Exactly, Cam. Normal is different for each and every one of us because God created each of us to be thoroughly unique in every way. And as you said a drug carries side effects – many times much worse than the original condition!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

