Surprising Longevity Advice from a 104-year Old

Ok, once you read this you’ll probably agree the advice isn’t all that surprising – but to many people it will be.  Dr. Mercola had an article in his newsletter this morning entitled, Diet, Doctor and Drug-Avoidance Can Help You Live Longer.”  It’s a very interesting read and of course, caught my attention immediately because it’s a philosophy I’m on board with.

Don’t get me wrong, if I need to see a doctor, I have no problem doing so.  I will admit that I don’t do it very often.  Thankfully, I haven’t had to and I intend to keep it that way.  As far as diet goes, if you read this blog very often, you know I feel nutrition is the #1 most important factor in overall good health.  And you would also know how I feel about taking pharmaceutical drugs.  (The statistics he shares in the article are eye-opening).

Most people my age are on at least one or two drugs.  That’s the typical progression.  I’m pleased and grateful to be able to say I am not on any and intend to keep it that way.  This 104-year-old Florida resident, who is the primary care-taker for her 87-year old daughter who is stricken with Alzheimer’s is a breath of fresh air and a great encouragement to me.  It IS possible to live a long, active, healthy life.  And she is living proof.  I hope it encourages you to keep doing whatever you can to take responsibility for your own health as much as it has inspired me.

If you are convinced that it is truly vital to put healthy living principles into practice, are you doing it?  

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Diabetes, Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Surprising Longevity Advice from a 104-year Old

  1. Ann,

    There was a lady in our town who lived to 100+ (I don’t remember the exact age) and she said basically the same thing. However, she was a doctor, but she wasn’t a pill-pushing doctor.

    I’m eating better and treating my body better than ever and I’m reaping the fruits of better health.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      Wow – I would’ve LOVED to have the opportunity to speak to her! What wisdom she must’ve had. And how unusual to find a doctor like that. Good for you being proactive about your health.

  2. fatherofonewebsite says:

    Ann, I found out this past week that both my parents are on around 9 medications on a consistent basis. That is scary! Seeing both my brother and father most recently experience stomach surgery was another reminder of why I must take care of myself. I told the surgeon this week not to expect to get to know me very good!

  3. Cam says:

    A very fascinating article, and one that I have known intellectually for a long time.
    It’s good to get validation. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

