Nourish and Fuel or Grab and Go?

Does this scenario sound familiar:

You run into the kitchen or stop by the drive-thru – grab whatever you can find that’s portable and quick – gobble it down standing at the sink or in the car between tasks.

I talk in my book, Today’s the Day, about the importance of slowing down and eating mindfully. You don’t have to set the table with cloth napkins, candles and flowers (although you certainly can!), but it is more important than you may think to actually sit down and eat your meal slowly and mindfully. There is a HUGE difference between just filling your belly and actually fueling and nourishing your body. A donut and can of soda will fill your belly (in more ways than one) but there’s no nourishment and it isn’t good fuel. You can grab it and go but you’ll be crashing before long.

Besides choosing real foods, the way you choose to eat your meal can make a big difference in your overall health. More than you may even realize! Eating too fast can block the hormone that makes you feel full and satisfied. Not only is that fast food bad for weight gain – eating it on the run doubles the negative effect.

I know many people just gobble a sandwich at their desk while answering phones, etc. If at all possible, try not to do this – even if you just go sit outside or in the lunchroom for 15 minutes while you eat. It will boost your energy levels, promote clear thinking, help you avoid fatigue, and improve your mood.

The other thing I feel is overlooked that sets the mood is to offer thanks for your meal. You will find as you do that you begin to relax and savor your food rather than barreling through it.

So, do you eat mindfully to fuel and nourish yourself, or just fill your belly?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Nourish and Fuel or Grab and Go?

  1. Matt Musico says:

    I’ve tried to eat slower over the years and I’ve gotten better at it…but I still have my moments!

  2. Ann,

    I’m guilty! I often do not sit down to eat and even when I do sit down, I tend to eat fast. I grab a handful of something throughout the day — nuts, raisins, and junk. I’ll try to be more mindful when I eat.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  3. This is one of those times when slow is really fast. I know in my head that if I take time to mindfully eat away from my work space, it will be a mental boost, plus help in my digestion and food choices, but too often, I think I’m saving time by multitasking and being “efficient”. Along the same lines, if I happen to eat in the car or while watching TV – I find I’ve consumed more food than I might normally and often still feel hungry afterwards! You’re right on target.

  4. Generally, breakfast is on the go but I’ve developed a love of protein shakes that I make and drink as I’m driving to work. Lunch is usually short but sitting and mindful and dinner I also make sure I eat in a relaxed way. Here’s one thing that I think influences mealtime: if you live alone like I do, it takes a greater effort to have a relaxing focused meal. It’s easier to either be on the go or multi tasking so that you don’t enjoy the experience.

    • amusico says:

      You are right, Lynne. When you live alone and many of those meals are eaten by yourself, it takes much more effort to make them an event that you relax and fully focus on. But it sounds like you are doing a wonderful job. Protein shakes are one of my favorite breakfasts as well.

  5. Cam says:

    Very interesting. While I don’t think I rush while eating, I definitely would be multitasking if possible.

    I will have to experiment with this, because I can completely agree with the principle you suggest here. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

