Smoking “Yolks” – Who Do You Believe?

I don’t know if anyone else saw this story on the news last week. They said that studies found a definite link between the number of whole eggs and egg yolks in particular a person eats and the amount of plaque in their arteries. Well as soon as the newscaster finished saying that my husband started laughing, knowing I eat whole eggs pretty much every single day. They actually went so far as saying that eating egg yolks is almost as bad as smoking when it comes to speeding up plaque deposits. Seriously? It just made me wonder what they were smoking when they did this study!

Whenever I see or hear a story about a study like this, I look for the way it was done and who funded it. The bottom line way too often is money. This “study” is based on interviews of stroke patients and their recollection of egg intake and admission of smoking history. I don’t know about you, but I have trouble clearly recalling from memory alone what I ate a month ago, so that alone is troubling. The entities behind this study are funded by the pharmaceutical industry (surprise) and two of the authors of the study are involved with statin drugs, which is definitely a conflict of interest.

Dr. Jonny Bowden does a fantastic job of explaining why this observational study is bad “science.” However, he points out that all the way at the end of the study is the finding that there is no association between cholesterol and increased arterial plaque.  Ok, so now I’m confused – then why are egg yolks bad again?

Do you believe every study you hear or read about?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Heart Health, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Smoking “Yolks” – Who Do You Believe?

  1. Ann,

    I totally agree that before we base our decisions about anything — what to eat, not to eat, where to invest our money, etc. we should carefully consider the source of the information.

    I eat eggs regularly and it’s had no impact on my cholesterol level.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. I would be just as cautious if I’d heard a study by the Egg Council on how great eggs were. You gotta consider the source, always. I’m glad eggs are good for us, because I love them so much. Had two whole ones this morning!

  3. Matt Musico says:

    Yea, this stuff is bogus! I hate it when these studies come out. Next year, it will be the opposite.

  4. Michael Good says:

    Whew, glad I dodged that bullet! I eat, on average, 4 whole eggs a day.

    • amusico says:

      And I bet your cholesterol is great like mine is!

    • alanamokma says:

      4 whole eggs a day! WOW! I wish I could do that. Do you change up the way you eat them or eat them the same way every time? I make scrambled eggs maybe 1-2x/wk but have a difficult time enjoying them more than that.

      • amusico says:

        I’m not sure what Michael does – but I usually have 2 hardboiled eggs with my smoothie 3 times a week, an egg white and whole egg omelet 3 days and sunnyside up on Sundays (my treat!). Usually 4 egg whites and one whole egg for the omelets and 3 whole eggs on Sunday.

      • alanamokma says:

        Thanks for the ideas Ann! I like the idea of hardboiled eggs. I really like them and only do that once every couple months. Since I mostly just do scrambled eggs, I think that’s why I tire of them quickly. Another way I really enjoy eggs is in egg salad, but then adding the mayo makes them less healthy. Do you have any recommendations for mayo substitute or a good egg salad recipe?

      • Michael Good says:

        Love the egg salad too. We don’t make this all that often though. Maybe 1-2 times a month. It’s great with a slice of fresh tomato on it!

      • alanamokma says:

        Nice! The fresh tomato sounds like a nice touch. I’ll try that next time. 🙂

      • Michael Good says:

        Alana, sounds like a lot. I know. I usually have them for breakfast over-easy, sometimes scrambled. I’ll have them with toast or hash browns as well. I need a big breakfast or I get super hungry within an hour or two!

  5. alanamokma says:

    I clicked on the link for Dr. Johnny Bowden. I found his description of observational studies helpful! There is so much information out there about what is good for you and what is bad for you, it is difficult to keep it straight. It’s interesting that once you dug a little deeper you found that it was funded by the pharmaceutical companies.

  6. Cam says:

    I have come to the conclusion (which probably makes me a cynic), that pretty well every study being released is biased — whether or not it agrees with a lifestyle choice of mine or not.

    I don’t think it’s the researchers/scientists themselves, but those who take the data and formulate the stories around it. It’s interesting, because when we dug into the research itself, we found that it directly says that there is no association between cholesterol and increased arterial plaque.

    Not only is this questionable research (based on memory and not controlled data), but it also is bad reporting because the story is framed differently than the research concludes.

    I may be a cynic, but I have a healthy life — and an ideal weight to go with it. 🙂
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

