Stick Close to Home for More Nutritious Foods

If you live near any farms – you see crops ready for harvest! Where I live there are farmer’s markets all over the place selling beautiful, locally grown seasonal produce. There is nothing like a freshly picked tomato, cucumber or zucchini! You can taste the difference immediately.

There’s more to it than that! God created this cycle of nature to most efficiently and effectively nourish our bodies. Springtime brings beautiful, chlorophyll rich green veggies as well as increased production of milk and eggs (if you are fortunate enough to be able to buy fresh eggs and raw milk!). Spring brings with it lengthening of daylight, and this bounty provides the extra nourishment and energy we need.

In the summertime we can dry and store herbs for cooking and teas. As fall approaches we find more fruit ripening – apples, pears, pumpkins. Fruits have higher sugar content to provide the extra fuel needed as we prepare for winter. Fruits are also easy to freeze or can to enjoy all throughout the cold winter months. Some of my happiest memories are going apple and pumpkin picking at the local orchards with my children.  (And then making apple crisp or pumpkin bread!)

Also when you grow, buy and eat locally and seasonally, you will not only save money, but even if the produce isn’t organic, there will be much less of a toxic load than there is on produce shipped long distances.

If you have no idea where to find locally grown, seasonal produce in your area visit Local Harvest, plug in your location and what you are looking for and you’ll get a list.

Do you eat seasonally and locally?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stick Close to Home for More Nutritious Foods

  1. Ann,

    Very neat website. Thanks for sharing. I want to plant my own garden in the near future!

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. Michael Good says:

    Thanks for the resource, Ann! There’s a place called Highland Orchards near me that we haven’t tried. I popped up when I put my location in, so I think I’ll check it out.

  3. I just checked out the website and located more outlets for produce that I was ever aware of in my county. Most recently I purchased 25 pounds of grass fed ground beef from a local farmer just 5 minutes from us. We have a ranch close by that used to have a farmers market with weekly organic boxes (mixtures of various veggies) for sale, but they haven’t done that this year.

    As a kid, my dad would have my brother and I set up at the small community markets in the back of his pickup truck selling produce that either we grew or bought at the big Farmer’s Market in Atlanta. It was always a fun environment to be around. I’ll have to get CK and head up to a farm this Saturday!

  4. I love love love going to the farmer’s markets near me! There is nothing better than buying all that fresh produce. I also have a garden each year which is semi successful. The drought this year has not helped but I have produced a few things for my kitchen. You can’t beat picking your own dinner. Thanks for the post!

    • amusico says:

      I never got to plant my garden this year so I am a little jealous of yours and I totally agree – nothing like picking your own dinner! Thanks for commenting and sharing.

  5. Cam says:

    Great post and insight. My wife and I definitely could benefit from eating more seasonally. Thanks for sharing this additional tip. 🙂

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

