What’s the Difference, Honey?

I bought some raw, unheated honey yesterday at Stop and Shop and the cashier found it fascinating. She asked me what the difference was between this and any other honey. Since there was a long line behind me I told her it was raw and because it wasn’t heated or processed like most honey you can buy, all the enzymes are still alive and it’s very healthy whereas when honeys are heated and processed they not much different than using sugar and we all know how bad that is for us.

She asked me if you can use it like you would any honey such as putting it in your tea and of course you can and you should!

Honey is mentioned numerous times in the Bible and has been around that long! Here are just a few honey health facts:

*Buckwheat honey has been found to be a more effective cough remedy than dextromethorphan for children from 2-18 years old.

*Compared to other substances used as sweeteners, honey is much better tolerated by the body, leading to better blood sugar control and sensitivity to insulin.

*Honey promotes immunity, as demonstrated by findings that 32% of cancer patients in an immunity study reported improvement in their quality of life as a result of fewer infections.

*Honey promotes wound healing, its most useful application in medicine and has been proven to heal burns more quickly.

Honey is nutritious and contains vitamins A, B2, B3, B5, C, biotin as well as minerals like calcium, magnesium, potassium, iron, copper, iodine, zinc; antioxidants and anti-microbial compounds beneficial for healing, internally and topically.  It’s actually been proven to kill E coli bacteria and the bee pollen in it contains protein.  Talk about a super food!

As with all things, moderation is the key, but don’t avoid real, raw, unheated, untreated honey.

Do you use honey? Is it raw and unheated?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Children's Health, Diabetes, Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Weight loss, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s the Difference, Honey?

  1. Randell Mark says:

    Ann, Thanks so much for the tip. I Love honey and use it almost daily, but I have never used raw honey. We will pick some up this week and start making it a regular at the Olson house.

    Thanks, Randell

  2. Ann, my dad had lots of beehives around the house and his general store when I was growing up. We’d rob the hives and put the frames in the honey extractor, but never did we heat it up. I wasn’t even aware that was done! We sold it in his store (though not nearly as much as he made). I have a little honey in the kitchen, though I rarely use it. The health benefits sound like a good to put a dab on some Ezekial Bread or hot tea!

    • amusico says:

      Wow you were lucky to have access to it when you were a kid! And yes – a bit on Ezekiel break or in your tea (I have honey in my green tea once every day!) is delicious and healthy!

  3. Ann,

    Yes, I use honey and I use the raw, unheated kind. It’s expensive though, so I’m using Stevia in my coffee now instead of honey.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  4. Claudia Good says:

    Ann,
    I/we have used raw honey since I changed my diet a couple years ago and it is delicious! I knew it was good for me but I couldn’t have told you all those details, so thanks! 🙂

    My friends dad is an apiarist and he sells his honey to the little grocery store I go to. I love his alfalfa version. It is so creamy… and the taste is exquisite. He also has orange flower, wildflower and he does have buckwheat, so I’ll have to give it a try. How is the taste of the buckwheat? Mild or stronger?

    Thanks for this post!

    • amusico says:

      I find buckwheat a little stronger – I have Wildland Gold Honey here right now which actually comes from Canada. I try different ones when I can. I agree – it’s wonderful in my Tulsi tea!

  5. Lynne Watts says:

    As always I learn so much from you Ann! I’ll have to give this a try.

  6. Rob Clinton says:

    Wow, great tips Ann… I don’t we have raw honey, but I’m sure we will now, because we do enjoy honey… Thanks so much!

  7. lhgraham says:

    Ohhh, did not know this! I love honey as well and buy locally but now I need to make sure it is raw! Great info!!

  8. Charles says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Great work!

    • amusico says:

      Charles thank you so much for your comments – I really appreciate hearing that. I used Highpower Sites and did this myself. Glad you are visiting often.

  9. Cam says:

    Great tips Ann. My wife and I use honey regularly, however I have not checked to see how it has been processed. The next time I’m in the kitchen with it, I’ll have to look.

    Thanks for the additional info, and I never knew it had that many benefits. 🙂

    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

