Whether You Need it or Not

I am all for preventive medicine – taking steps to avoid illness before it happens. In that I include cleaning up and improving your diet, taking the proper supplements, exercising, being adequately hydrated, getting enough rest and paying attention to your self talk and beliefs.

However, in this article pharmaceutical companies want to to conduct trials in people who have risk factors for Alzheimer’s but do not yet have symptoms.

If you have had a loved one with this devastating disease, you may well consider this to be a good step. One of my uncles died from Alzheimer’s and I know how devastating it is to all concerned. However, I would not be willing to allow myself or any loved one to be a guinea pig for a drug trial. Most often these drugs have proven ineffective and there are always negative side effects. There is positive research showing some safe, natural, nutrient-based solutions, which I would make my first choice.

What do you think? Would you be willing to be part of a drug trial like this?

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Supplements and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Whether You Need it or Not

  1. Ann,

    Absolutely not. Actually, I don’t see why we don’t use death row inmates for drug testing instead of innocent animals and people.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. Matt Musico says:

    No way!!

  3. Cindy Hirch says:

    I would not. But I know when people are desperate for a solution they are often willing to take the risk. I’m not against taking medicine, but personally would make lifestyle changes along with supplements first then see what happens.You already see all the side effects from the drugs that are out there now.

    • amusico says:

      I agree Cindy and I’m certainly not condemning anyone who takes medicine or is in that situation of feeling they must do something. Sometimes that is necessary. I just don’t feel it’s right to use people as guinea pigs – especially people who are already afraid they may develop a particular disease.

  4. No way, not for me or my family! Ask my wife, I don’t even like to take aspirin for a headache!

  5. No thanks, I definitely would be afraid I’d be causing problems instead of preventing them. I am interested in natural preventatives that you mentioned. My mother recently passed away and she had Alzheimer’s disease. It is a terribly depressing and scary problem.

  6. Cam says:

    While this sounds tempting, I’m with you — I’d rather try some healthly, balanced-diet based solutions to prevent this than experimenting with an unproven, untested-before-me, drug that probably has a list of side-effects that’s longer than a blog response should be. 😉

    It is interesting that too many people have fallen into the idea that a pill can solve everything — provided you take the perfect mix of pills for you and that they don’t counteract each other.

    I recently was introduced to a great tasting bread that is ridiculously healthy. Eating just one sandwich (using two slices of bread) will give me almost all the fiber I need each day and good percentages of many other nutrients as well. I’d rather take this approach than finding a pill that has as many negatives as positives.

    Great post and good food for thought. 🙂
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

