No Soup For You?

SoupUp here in NY we are looking forward to an extremely cold week ahead with temperatures not getting past the teens most days! I don’t know about you but for me the perfect meal on those days is soup! I love a steaming hot, delicious bowl of soup – it warms the soul as much as the body. And if it is made with quality ingredients it can be a great tool to help you lose weight as well! The theme of my free weekly newsletters this year is No-Nonsense Nutrition, and soup is a big part of that.

If you want to lose weight, and most of us at this time of year either recommit to that as a goal or just want to drop those extra holiday pounds, soup is a wonderful meal idea. Obviously heavy, cream-laden soups would not be a good choice but you honestly don’t have to give up that creamy mouth feel altogether – just be smarter about how you get it.

Broth based vegetable and bean soups are the #1 choice for you if weight loss is your goal. (Remember organic ingredients make it more nutritious.) Bean soups are loaded with protein and fiber and if you use a low sodium, organic vegetable, chicken or beef stock as the base, they will fit the bill perfectly.  The beans also help you feel full.

My friend, Luanne, makes a wonderful chicken-vegetable soup with extra veggies and then removes a portion of the veggies and broth – purees them and adds them back giving her soup a rich, creaminess without adding any cream! You can also substitute unsweetened coconut or almond milk for heavy cream and get the same result. Adding mushrooms, especially baby bellas or portabellas that have been lightly sauteed in coconut or olive oil will add a beefiness without any meat as well as healthy fat if you prefer to skip the meat.

If you make beans your protein of choice and add a healthy grain choice, you will have a complete protein.

If you want your soup to be a complete meal you can make some tiny meatballs from organic beef and drop them into your base raw and let them cook through gently as the soup cooks. You will get the flavor of the beef throughout and if you serve your soup with a scoop of quinoa or barley, you have a beautifully balanced meal. And because it is broth based it will fill you up more quickly.

Also remember to be generous with the spices! Herbs and spices will kick up the flavor and boost the nutritional value without adding any additional calories or fat!

Do you enjoy soup at this time of year? What is your favorite?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow” above) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No Soup For You?

  1. Matt Musico says:

    I love soup!! I just had some tomato soup for dinner last night.

  2. Our church is doing a 21 day fast for the new year and I chose the Danielle fast of fruits, vegetables and water so I am loving soup nowadays. The first few days were kind of difficult (on day 11 now) but I must say, I have started enjoying trying so many different types of fall/winter produce and have been experimenting with different types of vegan soups. Made Borscht last week and this week am enjoying some wonderful Gypsy soup, made with vegetable broth, onions, garlic, sweet potatoes, garbanzos, green bell peppers, and crushed tomatoes and seasoned with tumeric and cayenne. I added a few touches of my own also. Am having this for lunch today. Yum.

  3. Ann,
    I enjoy all sorts of warm foods when it’s cold outside. I like vegetable soup, but hubby likes chili and beef stew so we’ve been eating a lot of those.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      I love one pot meals and things that can go in the Crock Pot! This is the perfect time of year for those dishes, which I also love!

      On Mon, Jan 21, 2013 at 7:53 PM, 3-D Vitality

  4. I wish I’d read this before I went grocery shopping today! I’m in the mood for soup now! My mother makes delicious beef vegetable soup and cornbread on the side which was always my favorite growing up. Yum…I think I’ll head back to the store tomorrow for ingredients. 🙂

    • amusico says:

      Ah that sounds absolutely delicious! First meal my mother in law made that I was at was her famous chicken soup and it was the best I ever had! I miss that. Enjoy your soup tomorrow!

      On Thu, Jan 24, 2013 at 9:14 PM, 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

