Benefits Outweigh Risks?

cold and fluThere have been numerous articles about the benefits of the flu vaccine versus the risks. Everyone is weighing in so I won’t go into all the pros and cons from my personal perspective. Anyone who’s read my blogs and newsletters for any length of time know I have never had a flu shot and don’t intend on getting one any time soon. However, I would like to share this article that was on Dr. Mercola’s site. It goes a bit beyond just the benefits vs. the risks.

The 5 most troubling things that jumped out at me from this article were:

The FDA has approved a new insect-based, genetically engineered flu vaccine;

An order by New York’s Governor allowing pharmacies to administer the shot to children;

Some “health experts” advise that the conventional egg-based flu vaccine is safe for those with severe egg allergies stating that the benefit of the flu vaccine outweighs the potential risk of lethal anaphylaxis;

The vaccine is still only slightly over 60% effective; and

Published research concludes that flu vaccines are ineffective at best, and produce neurological complications at worst, while having no effect at all on hospitalizations or working days lost.

I suggest you ask your doctor whether he and his family get the flu shot. From past years, the answer will very likely be no. Several years ago when H1N1 was the flu of the season, Dr. Oz admitted his wife and family do not get the flu shot but he got his on TV. Very recently Piers Morgan allowed Dr. Mercola to give him a flu shot on TV and ended up getting the flu days later.

There are plenty of things you can do to protect yourself and keep your immune system strong, many of which are listed in Dr. Mercola’s article.

The question to ask, I think, is: Are the possible side effects worth it to you?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow” above) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

If you’re ready to live with more passion, purpose and prosperity, a deep sense of joy and peace you won’t want to miss this incredible opportunity to embrace transformation. This is the same program my friend, Life Coach Caroline Gavin, uses with her clients in both one-on-one and group coaching sessions. This powerful 7-Step Live-on-P.U.R.P.O.S.E. Process™ will transform your life in a way that is deeply spiritual but also perfectly practical. Step by step, day by day, you will walk to the fruition of your dreams.

Visit this link for more info and to sign up today!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Benefits Outweigh Risks?

  1. This is scary. I have never taken a flu vaccine and refuse to let my son get one. Neither my son nor I has gotten the flu. My husband took it twice in the past and got the flu both times so he stopped getting them.. until this year. Unfortunately, this year his job ordered its employees to take it or there would be ramifications. If they miss work due to the flu and have not gotten the shot, it would no longer be counted as a paid sick day. If they get the flu shot and still get the flu they will still be entitled to take paid sick leave for it. That infuriated me. That is manipulation plain and simple. I know that they are a private business and can do what they want but that is just not right. So he took the shot and got sick a few weeks later. He knows there is a connection but he does not want to jeopardize his job. I on the other hand am more of a rebel and would have respectfully refused. But I guess we just have different personalities. It makes my blood boil how low these drug companies will stoop to manipulate people with fear and intimidation.

    • amusico says:

      That’s just shocking and definitely infuriating! We are in a country that is founded on freedom and yet these pharmaceutical companies strong arm people into unhealthy and unfair choices.

      On Mon, Feb 4, 2013 at 11:24 AM, 3-D Vitality

  2. Matt Musico says:

    The benefits don’t outweigh the risks here… no thanks for the vaccine!

  3. Cindy Hirch says:

    Just reading that the FDA approved this new insect-based vaccine makes me shudder.

  4. None of the Wrights will be taking the flu vaccine! My mother used to get one and ended up with the flu and decided to stop taking it. Even if it was a “pure” vaccine without all the crazy ingredients, it is only a guess that they’ll have the particular strain of influenza in the shot that you catch.

  5. Ann,

    I have never had a flu shot and don’t intend on getting one. I feel the same way about the flu shot as I do other meds — the benefits DO NOT outweigh the risks. I prefer to keep my immune system healthy by eating right and trusting God (i.e. no stress).

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  6. Rob Clinton says:

    My last flu shot was in the Marine Corps in the 90’s… Never had one since… Thanks for sharing important information!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

