Are You Moody?

Vitamin supplements“People who consume vitamin and mineral supplements appear to be in a better mood than supplement nonusers according to the results of a meta-analysis published online on January 29, 2013 in Psychosomatic Medicine: Journal of Biobehavioral Medicine.” That was the opening sentence in a recent Life Extension update.

Positive effects of probiotics and healthy fats on mood and brain health has been documented. But many times doctors don’t encourage patients to include high quality vitamin and mineral supplements saying they simply create “expensive urine.” With the compromised state of our food supply, I personally believe supplementing with high quality supplements is not only a good idea, it is a necessity.

Part of the reason why the study results indicated that vitamin and mineral supplementation resulted in better mood, increased happiness and decreased anxiety and hostility levels was definitely in part due to providing nutrients, like B vitamins, that may be missing from the diet. Especially if it is a SAD (Standard American Diet)! The other reason, I believe, is that when you take one step in improving your health, it naturally leads to others, especially when it positively impacts your mood.

If you already take a high quality vitamin/mineral supplement, do you notice you have a more positive mood?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow” above) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Overall Health and Wholeness, Supplements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are You Moody?

  1. Hmmm, I think I am in a better mood when i take my vitamins, fish oils, cinnamon capsule, etc, but I figured it was because I usually tend to be eating better when I take my vitamins. It is also well researched the increased mood, behavior and sleep patterns of autistic children that take increased “B” supplements, namely B6, B12. Cod Liver Oil helps the sleep.

  2. Ann,

    I didn’t take any vitamins for years — mainly for the reason you mentioned, but I definitely notice a difference in my energy level which I’m sure affects my mood.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  3. Rob Clinton says:

    I would say, yes… Many times I thinks its my workouts but my diets and those vitamins I’m certain are responsible for the great mood, energy and thinking. I think I notice it more when I don’t take them, especially after a while because of how it starves my energy…

    • amusico says:

      Definitely Rob – giving your body the nutrients it really needs through food and supplements is so important and makes a huge difference.

      On Wed, Feb 13, 2013 at 11:10 AM, 3-D Vitality

  4. Rose says:

    Thank you Ann, I worked very hard last week trying out my new juicer, eating healthy, taking my vitamins. Yesterday I was out all day…I ended up eating too much Chinese Buffet late in the day, well, today I am so moody and feel so tired and lazy. I didn’t think about what I had eaten, it was just one meal. I will grab some fruits and veggies for my dinner tonight! Love your newsletters and blogs! Rose Munsey

    • amusico says:

      Rose – thank you so much for reading both the newsletters and the blogs and for taking the time to share and comment. I truly appreciate it!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

