This Milk Won’t Do a Body Good!

milkIf you buy chocolate milk for your children or flavored yogurts (which typically have WAY too much sugar), be aware that the FDA announced that the International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) and the National Milk Producers Federation (NMPF) have filed a petition requesting that the FDA amend the standard of identity for milk and 17 other dairy products to provide for the use of any “safe and suitable sweetener” as an optional ingredient. The sweetener mentioned in the petition is aspartame.

As you may know, aspartame is NutraSweet – and is anything but safe, especially for children. Their reasoning is to benefit children’s health by reducing the amount of sugar they eat. Ok, I’m all for reducing the amount of sugar, but not by replacing it with an artificial sweetener like aspartame that has so many documented negative side effects.

Here’s the part that bothers me most: “..the petitioners assert that consumers do not recognize milk—including flavored milk—as necessarily containing sugar. Accordingly, the petitioners state that milk flavored with non-nutritive sweeteners should be labeled as milk without further claims so that consumers can “more easily identify its overall nutritional value.”

I guess the FDA thinks we are all stupid and don’t realize that chocolate milk contains sugar. Milk itself contains a type of sugar. But if they put “reduced calorie” and list aspartame on the label they feel it will not be as “attractive” to children! So they are petitioning to omit that information from the label!

I don’t know about you, but I prefer honesty and knowing exactly what my food contains and especially food I feed my children.

How do you feel about this? Do you think these proposed amendments promote “honesty and fair dealing” in the interest of consumers?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow” above) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, email me at ann@threedimensionalvitality.com and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This Milk Won’t Do a Body Good!

  1. Ann,

    This is not a suprise. Rather than address the real issue, they will just try to combat it with another ineffective “drug”. I think that all food, especially non-junk food, should be clearly labeled with any additional ingredients.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. Cindy Hirch says:

    More and more we are seeing changes in FDA processes that adversely affect our health on so many levels.

  3. Matt Musico says:

    This is so ridiculous…this is anything but honest. However, I do need to find some natural options to fulfill my chocolate milk cravings 🙂

  4. You’d be surprised (well maybe not) at the number of so called “health” food that use Aspartame or Sucralose (AKA Splenda). A while ago a friend tried to get me to join this network marketing company who’s claim to fame was their meal replacement health shakes. I agreed to meet with her. When I tasted the shake, it had that telltale aftertaste that told me it was not naturally sweetened. When I asked her if it were artificially sweetened she denied it saying that it was just a small amount of sucralose. I pointed out to her that sucralose is Splenda which is in fact an artificial sweetener. She then handed me a piece of company literature stating that since sucralose was supposedly derived from natural sources and it was added in such small amounts then it was considered safe. She also added that since company research proved that sucralose was not absorbed by the body then it could not possibly be harmful I didn’t buy that and firmly but politely declined joining the company. She swore by it and sent me all of these testimonials about people losing weight and supposedly being cured of such things as diabetes and cancer after drinking this shake. She gave it to her children for breakfast and drank the shakes the entire time she was pregnant with her last child. This same family has had a continuous battle with illnesses which they cannot seem to shake (colds, flu, severe allergies, stomach bugs, anemia etc). While I cannot definitively say it was due to consuming the shake, I often wonder if it could be. My son drinks chocolate almond milk sweetened with organic cane juice and he does not seem to miss the other stuff.

    • amusico says:

      Absolutely! People believe sucralose is “natural” because it is derived from sugar but it’s altered with chlorine, which is poison! It’s sad to me how many people are totally uninformed about the truth and then feed their children from their ignorance! I am extremely careful about what ingredients are used in foods I eat or feed my family and those I become involved in selling. I won’t suggest something to anyone I wouldn’t use myself and I won’t use anything with artificial additives and sweeteners. They are too dangerous and there are better, natural alternatives. It’s the reason I write my blogs and newsletter – as part of my effort to educate people, provide free information and let them get to know me and what I believe, as a person and health coach.

      On Mon, Mar 4, 2013 at 12:39 PM, 3-D Vitality

  5. Bottom line, it’s all about the money and profits. Period. I guess they figure if a person thinks it’s good for them, it will be. Also, more of the assumption that store bought milk is some kind of superfood – i think it wreaks havoc on the body.

  6. So basically, they are asking for permission to lie through omission? Incredible!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

