Are You Open or Closed Minded?

Open MindedI honestly believe your success in losing or maintaining your weight, improving your health or really any aspect of your life is directly related to your openness to trying new things and your ability to consider new ideas and ways of doing things.

Very often I have found that people seek me out and want help with weight loss or some other health problem. They say they are desperate and willing to do “anything.” But when we go through a thorough evaluation process and I make some specific recommendations, they are resistant to change what they are already doing. The new idea or way of eating or exercising doesn’t make sense to them because they believed what they were doing was best for so long and this new thing is so unfamiliar and different it seems crazy!

I have permission to use my husband as an example here. He lost over 100 lbs. over 30 years ago, before we even met by eating and exercising a certain way. While he has kept that weight off for over 30 years (which is a HUGE accomplishment), he has not changed his way of exercising in that long. He complains that many times he is struggling through a 2+ hour session of cardio and has begun to experience sore muscles and joints more frequently.

I felt that he was over-exercising and I know this causes inflammation in the body which can negatively affect heart and joint health. I suggested he shorten his exercise sessions, alternate days of cardio and strength training or perhaps include interval training and see how he felt making those changes.

He’s afraid he won’t feel the same way when he cuts his sessions short – feels he won’t getting the same benefit and so he has rejected making any changes. You won’t know for sure until you try something and give it a fair chance and evaluate your results.

Are you open or closed minded when it comes to trying new things?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, email me at ann@threedimensionalvitality.com and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are You Open or Closed Minded?

  1. Yes change is very necessary. I have been struggling since the birth of my son nearly 6 years ago with my weight. It was at that time that I also realized that my metabolism had changed. I used to be able to drop weight mostly by exercising but that was not working anymore. I would exercise and exercise and feel slimmer but it never reflected on the scale. I was told time and time again that it was due to the fact of putting on muscle. While I was delighted about adding lean muscle I also wanted to burn fat and that part did not seem to be happening. Was not even sure how to do that anymore. This past year I took a certification class for passive and active rehab and when we got to the section on therapeutic exercise my eyes were opened to which exercises burned fat, which built muscle and strength, and which burned sugar. To be healthy we need a combination of all of them; however, slow and steady is best for fat burning. These are exercises where the heart rate is elevated to 50-70% of maximum heart rate however, you can still breath and have a conversation while doing it. Our bodies need oxygen to burn fat so anything higher than that puts the body in an anaerobic state and it ends up burning sugar. We also need to build muscle to increase the efficiency of the fat burning system. Also earlier this year I did a Daniel fast where I ate only fruits and veggies and drank only water (with small amounts of nuts and seeds and healthy plant fats) for 21 days. During that time I taught myself not only to eat cleaner but to eat a lot less as far as portion sizes. Cutting out refined carbohydrates to this day has helped me to keep my blood sugar from spiking and dropping so that I am able to feel satisfied for longer on less food. None of this has been easy but the last time I went to my doctor, I saw a significant drop in the numbers on the scale for the first time in nearly 6 years and I know that the changes are worth it.

    • amusico says:

      That’s wonderful and I know many people, myself included, can relate! Our bodies and metabolism change with the different seasons of life and as you mentioned after a big change like giving birth. Learning how our bodies work and how to best support them is so important as you explained. We have to be willing to change how we eat or exercise as our bodies require. I’ve had to do that – nothing seems to work forever. That one point you made is so important – oxygen is needed to burn fat – it’s like stoking the fire in a fireplace!

      On Mon, Mar 18, 2013 at 4:19 PM, 3-D Vitality

  2. I might add that it takes more than will power. It takes a total renewing of the mind and thought processes.

  3. Ann,

    Way to go on losing 100 pounds and keeping it off!

    When the pain of doing the same is greater than the pain/fear of changing, then we’ll change OR sometimes we are just forced to change by our circumstances.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  4. Rob Clinton says:

    When you helped me create a plan recently for my diet it was definitely different, and something to adjust to but in order for it to work I had to be open minded and try something different.
    I think I tend to be more prone to change anyway. I’m always looking for a better way so that makes it easier to adapt…
    You might be surprised to know that I’ve actually been on a Vegan kick for almost 2 weeks now… I was trying out a new workout program, so I thought what a great opportunity to give it a shot. Well, it was completely different than anything I’ve ever done, but guess what… I’m doing it, and I’m loving it!

    • amusico says:

      Rob that’s great! You are definitely one of the more open minded people I know and a pleasure to work with! I just started a new workout program just to shake things up as well. It’s very different from what I normally do and quite a challenge – but I am enjoying it!

      On Tue, Mar 19, 2013 at 10:16 AM, 3-D Vitality

  5. Cindy Hirch says:

    I’m always willing to try new things regarding food and exercise, especially exercise. I get easily bored with the same routine and I’m always changing it up.

  6. Ann, your hubby sounds very consistent, which is a super quality to have! I sure don’t mind trying new things, but also have to realize to stick to those ideas for a season to get a proper evaluation of how they’re doing before trying another new idea!

    • amusico says:

      I love how you put such a positive spin on what I shared – ok – I won’t say he’s stubborn, he’s just very consistent (and he really is). Thanks Michael!

      On Tue, Mar 26, 2013 at 7:13 AM, 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

