Are You Really Weak-Willed, or Is It Something Else?

Out of ControlMy primary focus in creating vibrant health is no-nonsense nutrition: eating nutrient-dense, fresh, whole foods, properly grown/raised and prepared and in a form as close to how God created them. In case you were wondering that would NOT include fast foods or packaged, processed “junk.” I find it hard to even call them food.

You may be thinking – but I try to give up my favorite processed foods, but I guess I’m just too weak to do it – I always go back to it. It’s almost like it has some kind of hold on me. You are not really wrong! This article goes into detail and when you have time I recommend you read it, but the bottom line is two-fold:

1. We are exposed to so much deceptive advertising that we almost become brainwashed! As the article mentions, when General Mills introduced Yoplait, they essentially transformed traditional unsweetened breakfast yogurt into a sugary dessert which contained 100% more sugar per serving than Lucky Charms cereal! But because yogurt itself is as a wholesome, healthy food, sales of Yoplait soared because people bought into the lie!

A client who hired me to assess his blood work and recommend how he could lower his uric acid level is a great example. I mentioned that fructose raises that level. Besides eating too much fruit, he added fruit on the bottom, sweetened yogurt several times a day because he thought it was “healthy.” Instead he suffered through several bouts with gout and his levels were still elevated.

2. Second, products have been reformulated with unlabeled, flavor enhancers which are little more than addictive drugs to overwhelm your brain and depress your desire to stop eating it causing you to crave it instead. This is big business!

So what can you do? Well it’s possible to break that addiction to sugar and processed, artificially flavored foods. It takes commitment and consistent effort. I would be honored to help you do just that.

Did you realize that foods have been engineered to cause you to crave them? Are there any in particular that have a hold on you?

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, email me at ann@threedimensionalvitality.com and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Detox, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Are You Really Weak-Willed, or Is It Something Else?

  1. Reblogged this on The Food You Know and commented:
    Interesting

  2. Ann,

    I know that there is probably no limit to what manufacturers will do if they think it will increase their bottom line. I was addicted to alcohol for a long time. I replaced the alcohol with root beer and later had to break that addiction. Both alcohol and root beer contain a lot of sugar, so sugar was the common denominator between the two. Once you give up the addiction, it’s amazing that you don’t even crave it anymore.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      I always like to share this scripture with clients and use it in my own life: 1 Corinthians 6:12 Everything is permissible (allowable and lawful) for me; but not all things are helpful (good for me to do, expedient and profitable when considered with other things). Everything is lawful for me, but I will not become the slave of anything *or* be brought under its power.

      On Mon, Mar 25, 2013 at 4:57 PM, 3-D Vitality

  3. I realized that I did not have to have refined sugar during my Daniel Fast in January when I gave up meat, grains, and refined sugar. At first it was difficult and I even went through sugar withdrawal for the first few days. Once the withdrawal had passed I realized that I had more energy and was no longer getting that daily mid afternoon nose dive in energy that I used to get before the fast. What I also realized is just how much “hidden” sugar was in some of the so called healthy foods I used to eat. And so I decided to no longer eat refined sugar (except for special occasions) even after the fast was over. I have lost 9 1/2 pound so far. It takes work and really paying attention to labels and it takes real dedication especially during holidays and family gatherings. And I agree that with all of the food commercials and the deceptive messages they constantly bombard us with, sometimes it can feel like fighting a losing battle but I have been refined sugar free for over 2 months now. That is a miracle for me since I was addicted to chocolate. When I do crave sweets or chocolate I eat fruit as I have not given up naturally occurring sugars. One of the special naturally sweet treats I discovered during the fast was Medjool dates. Yes, dates are high on the glycemic index scale I know but they are also high in fiber and other nutrients. Plus the Medjool variety are so big and meaty (about 66 calories a piece) and so satisfying that it only takes 1 or 2 to quell one of my sweet cravings. Now when I need a snack I eat 1 or 2 dates with a handful of raw almonds, sunflower seeds, or pepitas so I do not get the big blood sugar spikes that I used to get with chocolate candy. That is how I have been able to deal with the cravings.

    • amusico says:

      Excellent tips Dr. Delain. Mejool dates are used often in recipes to replace the refined sugar because they have nutrients where sugar doesn’t. I only eat refined sugar on holidays and when I am the one baking I buy organic, unrefined sugar – but I find the same thing you do – I don’t miss it and have so much more energy. I’ve found some excellent, natural sweeteners for baking and even substitute them where I know it will not change the recipe (when we have something special on the holidays it is one day and I try not to be legalistic about it). Fruit is very satisfying to me and I don’t miss sugary treats even though I was raised on them.

      On Mon, Mar 25, 2013 at 10:57 PM, 3-D Vitality

  4. Great Article Ann. Ever since my “coaching” sessions with you I am very conscious of what I eat. I still rely on the excellent information that you gave me during my 7 weeks of coaching and I must tell you that sugar and ‘sugary’ drinks have become a thing of the past…..my taste buds have adjusted nicely (was very challenging at first -especially with Pepsi) and I really have not missed the sugar, as a matter of fact when I am at family gathering etc. and am given food with sugar I am able to detect it immediately and while others do not find the food to be all that sweet I find same to be very sweet. Blessings!

    • amusico says:

      Thank you for sharing that – isn’t it amazing how wonderful the subtle flavors of real food are once we have retrained our taste buds!!! God bless you, Evadne.

  5. Serena says:

    I love this post. Its sooo sad BUT true! So many people THINK they are making healthy eating choices when they are UNKNOWINGLY sabotaging their health & setting themselves up for food cravings. Thanks for putting it out there, Ann!

  6. Interesting article that uncovers a topic we don’t normally think about. That is the magic of eating whole foods, you don’t have to worry about that issue. I think the weakness for me if frozen treats – I love ice cream and can see why – the combo of high sugar and fat together!

    • amusico says:

      Yes – it is delicious but pretty much a minefield for losing weight and being truly healthy. However, having a treat occasionally is certainly fine!

      On Sun, Apr 14, 2013 at 7:24 AM, 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

