How Diet Affects Your Temper

FastingWhen you don’t provide your body with the nutrients it needs, it becomes unable to produce critical hormones and brain chemicals. As this very interesting article and short video detail, this can lead to a short fuse and angry, aggressive or violent behaior.

The main culprit is too many refined carbs. The problem is that if you are not eating real, nutritious foods, you cause deficiencies in some key nutrients – vitamins and minerals – your body needs to help keep your mood steady so you are able to cope with the ups and downs of daily life in a stable way.

Yes, food is THAT important! That’s why I focus on no-nonsense nutrition and urge people to refocus their diets on real food that nourishes you at the cellular level. When you eat packaged, processed junk, you fill your belly but are actually starving yourself. Many overweight and obese people are malnourished for just that reason.

So I encourage you to begin cleaning up your diet and especially begin replacing refined carbs with more clean protein, beans, vegetables, especially green, leafy ones and healthy fats. If you find you are short-tempered much of the time, I bet you will begin to see a change once you begin truly nourishing yourself!

And be sure you are keeping yourself well hydrated – if you are dehydrated it is difficult to process emotions properly.. Your brain is between 70 and 85% water and when you’re dehydrated it will affect your ability to handle emotions effectively!

Want to see more articles like this?  Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow” above) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do,  I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you. And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How Diet Affects Your Temper

  1. This is so true! I have experienced this effect of being short-tempered firsthand – it’s like my body is yelling at me to hydrate and nourish it (or get more sleep)…it knows!

  2. So true. When I have overdone it on refined carbs I always feel overly tired and lacking in energy and when I am in that state I tend to be cranky. Caffeine has the same effect on me although it is mostly coffee that causes it. I do drink green tea in moderation with no ill effects. For me, refined carbs and caffeine give me a very brief energy spike and emotional high and then about 30-60 minutes later my energy and my mood take a nosedive and I end up feeling worse than before I overdid it on the offending substances. Couple bad diet that with poorly managed stress, and resultant blood sugar issues and adrenal overload and you have recipe for disaster. I have been off of that roller coaster since the middle of January of this year and feel a lot younger and more energetic than my 51 years, to the glory of God!

    • amusico says:

      That’s wonderful Dr. Delain. I, too, find that I do not do well with caffeine from coffee and refined carbs. I haven’t had coffee in over 28 years – I gave it up when I was pregnant with my oldest son because it tasted terrible and never went back. I do drink green tea, yerba mate and other caffeinated teas with no problems. As for the refined carbs – they just do not affect me well so I have stayed away from them (except on holidays or a special celebration) for years – and honestly, I do feel the difference when I have them so avoiding them is pretty easy.

  3. Ann,
    I can attest that not getting food (or decent food) can make you grouchy.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  4. Rob Clinton says:

    You know, I started veganing out a few weeks ago, and I have to tell you my mood has just been pleasant all the way through each day. Nothing seems to phase me, I’m just feel good! =)

    • amusico says:

      Real food will do that to you! That’s awesome Rob and obviously eating vegan fits with your metabolic type so I say – keep it up!

      On Wed, Apr 3, 2013 at 10:21 AM, 3-D Vitality

  5. Kerry Stith says:

    Ann thanks for the post. I’ve been “off the wagon” for a little while from a nutrition perspective & decided to get back on this past week. Thanks for the inspiration.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

