Are Your Genes Hard or Soft?

On off switchMany of my family members, including my mother, have died from cancer. I have had friends who’ve battled this complex and destructive disease. I am, by no means, an expert and not having experienced it, I don’t pretend to know what I would do in that instance.

That being said, there’s been so much publicity about Angelina Jolie having her healthy breasts removed because a genetic test revealed she has the genetic potential to develop breast cancer like her mom. She did what she felt she had to in order to be able to live a long, healthy life and so I am the last person to criticize her.

However, I don’t feel she should be an example to other women of what they should do if they learn they have a genetic propensity to develop cancer or any other disease. Science has proven that these genetic markers indicate the potential to develop a disease. It is not a done deal. Those genes are like switches that can be flipped – either on or off. Numerous studies have proven direct links between the consumption of certain foods and the mutation of these genes. For example growth hormones and steroids in conventionally produced cows milk has been associated with cancer.

In this article by Dr. Mercola, he states that while women with BRCA defects have a 45-65% increased risk of breast cancer, only about 2% of diagnosed breast cancers are caused by BRCA faults. Dr. Robert Marshall says almost all genes are “soft” meaning they can be expressed or suppressed depending on nutrition and lifestyle.

In all honesty, this complex disease encompasses genetic disposition, lifestyle choices including spiritual, mental and emotional. I don’t think anything is written in stone and I don’t think any of us are victims of our heredity. Dr. Richard Schulze said: “…your level of health is determined by your GENETICS REACTING to your LIFESTYLE, It is NOT what you inherit… It is how you LIVE that can either turn on, or turn off, genes that are predisposed to disease.” I agree with that.

What do you think about this?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for my free weekly newsletter as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Diabetes, Heart Health, Nutrition, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are Your Genes Hard or Soft?

  1. I am glad someone finally addressed this as it was a bit disturbing to me too. I cannot be too critical of her either since I lost my mom to breast cancer when I was only 9. What is disturbing is the media and certain medical associations holding her up as a hero and the example to follow for women who have the gene..as if there are no other options. Women are frightened into being tested and then frightened into having the surgery if they have the gene. Women who do choose the surgery are touted as being courageous. My major issue is that nothing is mentioned about lifestyle changes which gives the impression that surgery is the only way to avoid getting the cancer if you have the gene. One can discover that she has the genetic propensity towards a certain type of cancer and simply have the offending body part surgically removed but if there are lifestyle deficiencies with no lifestyle changes are made, cancer may still develop somewhere else. This is not to imply that genetics are not an important factor.. Just not the only component.

    • amusico says:

      Absolutely Dr. Delain – you said that beautifully. My mother had bone cancer which spread to her lungs. They never found the primary site – but my mom struggled with alcohol until 3 years before she died and she smoked. Those lifestyle choices cannot be ignored. I also don’t feel we should do things from a place of fear and using fear to coerce women (or men) to have surgery or any type of treatment is just wrong in my opinion.

      On Mon, May 27, 2013 at 6:12 PM, 3-D Vitality

  2. Ann,
    I studied Psychology in college and they always talked about nature vs. nuture. I certainly believe that there can be a case for both, but I know that with God it doesn’t matter. His power can reverse any curse whether it came from our genes or from our upbringing. I’ve been told that because I’ve never had children, I have a higher chance of having breast cancer, but God’s Word tells me that Jesus took the curse of disease, including cancer. I choose to believe God’s Word and I pray that others will not take drastic measures out of fear.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      Always the best way, Marianne. I agree. When I had a tubal pregnancy after my Christopher was born I was told I had a much greater risk of having another one and not having any more children, but I trusted God and had Matthew and Elizabeth with no further problems.

      On Tue, May 28, 2013 at 9:01 PM, 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

