Are You a Half-Full or Half-Empty Person

Glass half fullDo you consider yourself a pretty happy person? Do you consider yourself an optimist? If you do, that’s wonderful because happy, optimistic, well-adjusted people are healthier! I am reading an excellent book, Mind Over Medicine by Dr. Lissa Rankin and chapter 7 talks about the importance of happiness and optimism in preventing disease. I found her description of how optimists and pessimists think to be very interesting so I thought I’d share it here.

 

Basically it all comes down to how you explain bad events to yourself and how permanent, pervasive and personal your perception of the event is.

 

Pessimists view a negative event as permanent, as in “it’ll always be this way;” pervasive as in “this will ruin everything;” and personal, it becomes all your fault. The result is feeling hopeless. Even though the event – which could be anything from losing your job, making a mistake, breaking up with someone – inevitably happens to everyone at one time or another, the pessimist perceives it’s only true for them. On the other hand, when something good happens pessimists believe it’s only temporary, specific and out of their hands. So even with something good – they feel hopeless and helpless! A recipe for illness.

 

Optimists are the exact opposite – they see the bad events as temporary, specific and external to them and the good events to be permanent, pervasive and the result of their own wonderfulness! No wonder numerous studies find optimistic people are healthier, have stronger immune systems, recover better from surgery and live longer.

 

Studies also revealed that optimism can change over time but the way people view bad events seems to remain fixed throughout their lives. It’s not written in stone though – you can teach yourself to be more optimistic.

 

So which are you – an optimist or a pessimist?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for my free weekly newsletter as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

 

And while you’re at it, visit my Today’s the Day and 3D Living Nutrition Blogs and subscribe to them too! You’ll get articles to help you lose weight, get fit and improve your nutrition!

 

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Diabetes, Heart Health, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Are You a Half-Full or Half-Empty Person

  1. YES…such power in positive thinking! I optimistic that I am an optimist, and I am thankful for the wonderful optimism I find in you! Thank you for sharing information and inspiration with us, my dear friend!

    • amusico says:

      You almost personify optimism for me! Thank you for reading and commenting.

      On Mon, Jun 10, 2013 at 1:20 PM, 3-D Vitality

      • Wow! I am truly humbled and honored! I feel the same of you, Ann!

        You radiantly exude optimism in your words, in your ministry, in your life!

        Thank you for LIVING this post — and truly LIVING in 3D!

  2. Matt Musico says:

    I tend to think I try and view things as optimistically as possible.

  3. Ann,

    I’m definitely an optimist, but I was a pessimist most of my life. I definitely have better health now. I attribute my change in attitude and the change in my health as a direct result of my relationship with God and the nourishment of my soul from His Word. Definitely something people should consider and definitely something that can be changed through God’s power.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      I agree Marianne and I can say the same thing for myself. I definitely consider myself an optimist and I don’t believe that was the case growing up.

      On Mon, Jun 10, 2013 at 4:28 PM, 3-D Vitality

  4. One Solution For Me says:

    Great post Ann. I am an optimist and have observed that individuals who view the glass as half-empty are always taking from it thus depleting it – the pessimist. However, those who view the glass as half-full are adding to it – optimists. I can’t claim that as an original thought but I also can’t remember where I heard it. I thought I would share that bit of information – it helps me better understand the pessimist viewpoint and develop a foundation where I can begin to work with them on understanding the optimist viewpoint.

    • amusico says:

      That’s awesome and I love that observation. It really does clarify the basics of what is happening and does increase understanding. Thank you for reading and for sharing that.

  5. Hi Ann! I believe I am an optimistic person overall. I think it’s just a decision to see all the positive possibilities in an outcome. God makes good out of “bad” events in our lifes, so if you look at it that way it certainly sheds a new light on it. I always try to think that there a multiple solutions to any problem (if you’re a pessimist) or opportunity (if you’re an optimist) that comes our way and maybe I just haven’t seen it yet.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

