Avoiding Unhappiness with…Food?

happinessYou will probably agree that good nutrition is the foundation of wellness as this article states. Whether you are trying to lose weight or improve cholesterol or sugar levels, the first place to look is nutrition. “You are what you eat” is not just a catchy phrase – there is great truth in this. Your body rebuilds itself continually and the fuel you put in it is what it uses to do so.

But could the foods you eat have an impact on how happy you are? Now I am not talking about medicating or comforting yourself with food here. As the article explains, they could be critical factors because the nutrients in them can affect brain chemicals like serotonin, relax your muscles, protect your brain helping with depression, anxiety, ADHD, and other behavioral problems.

Some of the best happiness foods are walnuts, salmon and other wild caught fatty fish, nuts, avocadoes, olives and olive oil, green tea, veggies and fruits. All are what I call one-ingredient foods and what I recommend creating your meals around.

While traditional “comfort foods” like ice cream, cookies and other sweets may make you feel better in the moment, the effect doesn’t last long and only creates a craving for more of these refined carbs which are destructive to health.

Do you intentionally create your meals around nutrient-dense foods that nourish every part of you? Share your favorites with me.

 

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  And please share the article as well!

When you subscribe, why not sign up for my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Soul Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Avoiding Unhappiness with…Food?

  1. Ann,

    The most nutritious thing I eat on a regular basis is my Victory Shake. It’s got veggies and fruits and good oils too. It’s really quite tasty too.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. Yes, I totally agree with food affecting the mood! I know if I eat sugar, I will gain a very very very quick burst of energy, and then become very drained almost immediately afterwards, and I, then, live in regret that I even thought about it in the first place.

    Thanks for keeping my mindful of what I eat affects me a lot

  3. My two eggs with spinach and tomato “scramble” is probably the one thing I never, ever get tired of eating every single day. Love it.

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a
    little bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?