How You Handle Small Stresses Can Make a BIG Difference

 

woman stressed outThere is a verse in the Bible that says it is the little foxes that spoil the vine (Song of Solomon 2:15). We can all probably attest to the fact that when we are faced with a major problem, we tend to be able to pull ourselves together and do whatever the crisis requires. However, it’s those little day-to-day annoyances, frustrations and problems that seem to pile up until they reach a tipping point. So often it seems we can more easily deal with the big, serious problem and maintain balance than with those little silly things that pop up every day.  At least that is true for me.

Well, this article was eye-opening about the destructive, long-term effects of small, daily stresses. These two excerpts speak volumes to me:

“…how you react to what happens in your life today predicts your chronic health conditions and 10 years in the future, independent of your current health and your future stress…For example, if you have a lot of work to do today and you are really grumpy because of it, then you are more likely to suffer negative health consequences 10 years from now than someone who also has a lot of work to do today, but doesn’t let it bother her.”

We know if we continually eat junk food and never exercise that we can likely expect to be overweight, have high blood pressure and possibly diseases like cancer or diabetes 10 years down the road. And even though I know stress triggers disease, I never really thought about how my reactions and responses to small, daily stressors could affect my health 10 years down the road. Did you?

Paul tells us in Philippians 4:11: “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

As the article states, it seems we have made discontent a comfortable, familiar habit, almost an addiction. And as scripture clearly says, we can learn how to be contented. Actually, I believe we must re-learn how to live a joyful, contented life and not allow all those little foxes to spoil our days!

What are the little “foxes” you allow to spoil your days?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.

Balance and wholeness are the best way I know to avoid allowing stress to get the best of you.  I invite you to join Caroline Gavin and me in our life-changing 40 day journey to a Healthy Business, Healthy Body and Healthy Life! And don’t feel you must be an entrepreneur to benefit – these are life principles that apply to every woman – whether you have a business, work at a job or are a stay-at-home mom (the most difficult & important job!).  Learn more here.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Cancer, Diabetes, Heart Health, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How You Handle Small Stresses Can Make a BIG Difference

  1. Ann,

    You are really convicting me on this one!!!! I’ll pay more attention to those little foxes!

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. AMEN! Convicting and compelling! Ann, thank you so much for this beautiful and powerful testimony of living with contentment! I was just meditating this morning on how often we allow ourselves to feel discontented due to a wrong perception of lack; truly we have *everything* in Christ! Thank you for encouragement to “live a joyful, contented life and not allow all those little foxes to spoil our days” — and I am beyond grateful to offer the “Healthy Business, Healthy Body, Healthy Life” program with you! I agree that balance and wholeness are vital to stress-avoidance and Christ-centered contentment!

  3. Good writing, Ann. Re. disease… it is dis-ease. You are point on regarding those ‘little foxes’: all our actions will breed consequences, and if we do these actions long enough they become habits. I remember this, as I think about your post and those ‘foxes’: thoughts lead to actions that lead to behaviors that lead to habit. So…thanks for reminding us about those foxes…especially as it relates to our nutritional choices

  4. The verse in your post is from our most recent sermon series – it’s about “strength” (Phil 4:13) – I think our little stresses are there because we often think WE have to handle everything, that’s it’s all up to us……but doing what we can and relying on God’s strength, it helps keep the foxes at bay. My biggest stressor is at work when I worry about how my decisions affect others that work for and with me.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

