Are You Overlooking This?

water 2I’ve noticed my 87-year old father, who has always been very calm and upbeat, has seemed down lately.  I understand that at this age he cannot do all the things he once did and wants to, so I do get that.  But it was beginning to concern me.  Then he had blood work done in June.  The doctor just gave him his results and he was not sure what any of it meant.  I offer an evaluation I call The Life is in the Blood where I evaluate someone’s blood work results.  Well of course I did it for him.  He loved that it clearly explained what each item on the results was and whether his was high, low or in range, what that might mean and what he could do about it.

One of the things that jumped out at me was that several of the kidney function tests indicated dehydration.  He says he drinks “a lot of water” and most people tell me that as well.  But until you intentionally measure and keep track you may be surprised that you really are not drinking enough.

I honestly believe that is the case with him.  And of course at that age there are additional challenges that make it a bit more difficult to stay well hydrated.  I suggested he spread the water out over the course of the day rather than drinking 3 or 4 glasses in one shot first thing in the morning and calling it a day, which is what he was doing!  I also encouraged him to include the natural, unprocessed pink salt in his food which he had been avoiding, thinking it would raise his blood pressure.

He usually doesn’t listen to me but it seems like this time he did.  He had additional blood work done 6 weeks later and his levels have improved – as well as his mood.  It may surprise you to know that approximately 75% of Americans are sub-clinically dehydrated.  The acidic, processed food diet and caffeine-laden and artificially sweetened beverages most people consume is a primary reason.

This is fairly common for most on a daily basis, but women seem to be exceptionally susceptible to the negative mood changes.  If you’ve been feeling down lately, pay attention to how much water you are really drinking.  It may be a simple fix.

What do you drink most throughout the day?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.  When you do, why not sign up for my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you!

Something I use daily and have given to my dad as well is Emergent O2 Water Oxygenator.  One of the many benefits is that it enables the water you drink to better hydrate your cells and tissues.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are You Overlooking This?

  1. It is truly amazing the difference achieved through simply maintaining our bodies natural hydration levels! Thanks for sharing this.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment and for sharing on Twitter. I appreciate that. Yes, something as simple as being properly hydrated can make a WORLD of difference!

  2. It depends on how intentional I am – many days I drink at least 2 liters of water, sometimes more. I notice there are days that I might drink that 2-4 glasses. I just keep in the back of my mind that my body won’t function well without it – it’s like oil for a car. I’m so glad your dad listened to you and is feeling better.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Michael. Yes, that was definitely in the realm of a “miracle” as he usually doesn’t think I know what I’m talking about lol!

      On Mon, Aug 26, 2013 at 10:00 AM, 3-D Vitality

  3. Ann,

    I like the “Life is in the Blood” title and I’m glad your Dad listened to you.

    I’m definitely not dehydrated! In fact, I think sometimes that I drink too much water because I’m always drinking water. I drink coffee in the morning, but I usually start out with about 8 oz of water. I have a 20 oz bottle and I fill that several times per day.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  4. Thanks for the article, Ann. I love reading your insights

  5. Ann, I always enjoy your no-nonsense nutrition nuggets!
    Thank you for motivation to stay hydrated for not only healthy living but also HAPPY living!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

