Nutritional Abuse

overweight childAwhile back I did a post in my No-Nonsense Nutrition Report about a girl who ate only ramen noodles and was extremely unhealthy as a result.  In fact her doctors said that the 18 year old had the health of an 80 year old!  You can read it here.

I believe nutrition is the foundation of good health and as parents, it is our responsibility to provide our children with the highest quality foods as well as teaching and showing them how to make the healthiest choices.  So, as far as I am concerned, the parents of that 18 year old girl were abusing their daughter by giving in to her demands to eat only Ramen noodles.  Sadly, now she is paying the price.

Well I just read another article that shocked me almost beyond words.  A “morbidly obese” two-year old child was given bariatric surgery in an effort to get him to a healthy, normal weight.  A two year old?? I know it sounds incredible and ridiculous, at least to me, but here’s the article.

Not only are the parents being abusive by allowing a 2-year-old, who can only eat what is provided for him, to get to this point, but doctors who would perform such drastic surgery on a young child rather than helping to teach parents how to properly nourish their child are beyond abusive!

If a child has already gotten into some bad nutritional habits, changing them may cause some tantrums and outbursts, but so what?  In the long run you will have a healthy child who has been taught how to properly nourish himself.  As parents, that’s definitely a critical part of our responsibilities.  I offer suggestions for ways to do this in my book, Entrepreneurs for Eternity.

What do you think about this extreme solution?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.

Also I wanted to let you know the book launch for the 2nd edition of Today’s the Day Seven Week Fitness Plan is on until September 30th!  If you buy a softcover copy you will get over $100 in bonuses! And you can learn sound nutritional principles to help you get to a healthy weight and teach those principles to your children! A win-win-win!!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Fitness, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nutritional Abuse

  1. Ann,

    Wow! I’m heartbroken about these cases of abuse and I certainly hope that it will be labeled as child abuse in the future. Thanks for highlighting these stories so people can learn the truth.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. I had lunch with a friend with grown adult children who mentioned one of his kids asked him “Dad, why didn’t you make me eat better growing up?” as he related how this young man as a child would only eat mac and cheese and chicken nuggets. I know my dad pretty much made us eat whatever my mom prepared and today I like just about anything on the food spectrum. We do a really poor job at home trying to broaden our daughter’s menu – she is so picky with textures and smells. She won’t even eat most fast food, (which is good!). We do our best to focus on the few items that are healthy. I get surprised sometimes when I offer her things, she’ll latch onto foods I wouldn’t expect like tuna and “catfish” (which is what I call Tilapia or any other fish she eats), so she’ll actually eat it. 🙂

    • amusico says:

      Haha Michael – so every fish is tilapia! I remember when my daughter was younger and very picky – she would only eat pasta with butter or olive oil and cheese which is what she called “clean” and I actually got her to try linguine with white clam sauce and she liked it because she said the “chicken” in it tasted good! You do a great job working around CK’s likes and dislikes.

      On Thu, Sep 26, 2013 at 7:48 PM, 3-D Vitality

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

