Addicted….to Oreos?

oreosI read this article last week on Dr. Mercola’s site. According to a study Oreo cookies were found to be just as addictive as cocaine or morphine! And those are some heavy duty drugs. Oreos are my son, Christopher’s favorite store-bought cookie. Thankfully, I don’t have to stage an intervention and get him into cookie rehab.  In fact, when I mentioned this article to him, he said he intentionally doesn’t eat them often because he realized he finds it difficult to stay away from them.  (Smart boy if I do say so myself!)

I know it sounds ridiculous that an “innocent” childhood treat that commercials portray grandparents enjoying with their precious grandchildren could be as dangerous as street drugs, but it’s true.  I don’t think we realize just how manipulated we have become by the large food companies that manufacture these processed “treats.”

What used to be innocent dessert or snack foods have been engineered to get people hooked so they must satisfy their craving for more, increasing their profits! I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the idea of anyone messing with my mind. And I refuse to be controlled by any food, much less any person.

For me it just shows how little these companies care about our health and well-being and how the bottom line is dollars and cents.  So many people who regularly eat many of these processed foods and have tried to stop and can’t begin to believe it is a matter of being weak willed, when in actuality they have become addicted without even realizing it.

Have you found certain processed treats to be addictive for you?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. 

When you do, why not sign up for my free 7 Days to Feeling Great Challenge? If you have 10 minutes a day you can learn healthier habits in 7 short days! Easy, simple and FREE!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Addicted….to Oreos?

  1. Ann,

    Wow! I actually HATE Oreo’s — too sweet for me, but my husband loves them! When he eats them, he can eat almost an entire package of them at once. Like Christopher, we don’t buy them often. I like the term “Cookie Rehab”. That’s a great idea for a new show for people addicted to food.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

  2. debwilson2 says:

    I know certain foods are addictive for me. Baskin Robbins mint chocolate chip ice cream is that way for me. I have to keep those things out of my house or have them come in serving size not large containers. Cookie and ice cream rehab reality show would be nice!

    • amusico says:

      Deb I hear you! We don’t have a Baskin Robbins close by (thankfully) but in years past I remember Amarretto Cheesecake ice cream and that was definitely a weakness for me. Haven’t had it or regular ice cream in years and honestly don’t miss it now.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

