Health: Freedom to Make our Own Choices

parent and child“If people let the government decide what foods they eat & what medicines they take, their bodies will soon be in as sorry a state as the souls who live under tyranny.”

I happened to see an episode of the Dr. Phil show last week and what I saw shook me to my core! Especially as a mother, it was alarming beyond words.  It was called: The Fight over Justina: Medical Child Abuse by Parents or Abuse of Power by a Hospital? And you can see the episode here.

Briefly, for the past 13 months, these parents have been fighting to regain custody of their 15-year-old daughter, Justina, who they claim has been held against their (and her) will by Boston Children’s Hospital. They say Justina suffers from Mitochondrial Disease and is in need of medication, but the hospital argues that the teen’s issues are psychosomatic — and accuses the parents of committing “medical child abuse.” Justina’s parents and sisters — Jennifer, Jessica and Julia — say they’re only allowed to visit her one hour a week and claim her health is deteriorating because she has not received proper medical care.  The show discusses whether the doctors are justified in their action.

Seeing the videos of her before she ended up in the hospital, ice skating, smiling and happy and now, 13 months later, wheelchair-bound and unable to walk was frightening to say the least. My heart goes out to this family.  However, it’s not the first or only case of this type I’ve seen or read about.

I want to be very clear – I am not telling anyone not to pursue conventional treatment for cancer or any other disease if that is their choice and they have confidence that it is the best one for them or their child.

My concern here is when a hospital or any agency supercedes our rights – particularly parental rights. Dr. Phil clearly stated that in cases where a child is concerned, erring on the side of caution is best and I agree. He agreed that the authorities must assume there could be some wrongdoing in the home and disprove that before they do anything else. I agree. However, from all accounts, the family was not investigated. The girl was simply put in foster care and the hospital took over her care without any input from her parents, even though an older sister suffers from the same disease and is doing well on the medical treatment the parents sought.

I fear for all the parents of young children who may choose to go against conventional treatments. Or in this case a conventional treatment that not all the experts seem to agree upon. There are plenty of accounts of real parents who decided to go a different way and saw significant improvement in their child’s health. Here’s one example.  Again, I’m not saying anyone must go against conventional treatment – just that there should be the freedom to do so.

I believe we should be able to get medical care from sources we trust and be allowed to take our health back into our own hands.

What do you think?

Want to see more articles like this?   Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. 

When you do, why not sign up for either my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you; or my free 7 Days to Feeling Great Challenge? If you have 10 minutes a day you can learn healthier habits in 7 short days! Easy, simple and FREE!  Better yet – get both!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Health: Freedom to Make our Own Choices

  1. Ann,
    I have had similar arguments with the vet about what was best for my pets. I switched vets after the vet gave my cat a shot without my authorization. So, I definitely agree that the parents should have the right to seek alternative treatments and even in some cases, seek no treatment. This is a very complex issue and certainly we don’t want parents abusing their children by neglecting proper care, but who gets to decide what is proper care? Personally, I just stay away from doctors as much as possible because I know they will want to give me some kind of medication.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    • amusico says:

      I do the same thing you do – unfortunately when children are young, there are times when you must take them to a doctor. This whole issue really concerns me as it seems to be getting worse.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, this is truly alarming.

  3. Cam says:

    I definitely agree with your assessment Ann. I am not opposed to traditional medicine, but when rights are taken away from the parents without a formal charge/investigation, this is definitely a bad sign in the direction we’re headed. I sense a large lawsuit and a team of really mean lawyers need to be hired by the family. It definitely sounds like the hospital has over stepped its bounds.

    Thanks for sharing this story and for your additional thoughts.
    ~Cam

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Cam and I totally agree with your comment that the hospital overstepped it’s bounds – unfortunately from what I’ve seen lately it seems to be happening more and more often.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

