Health and Lifestyle: It Pays to Get Specific

healthy vs unhealthy foods“About 800,000 Americans die from cardiovascular disease annually. A quarter of these deaths could be prevented through simple lifestyle changes such as maintaining a healthy weight, exercising, and managing your diabetes.”

That statistic and the recommendation for preventing that outcome are detailed in this article. We are told to make “simple lifestyle changes” but what exactly does that entail? How do you maintain a healthy weight? What kind and how much exercise should you get? How can you optimize your diet?

If you simply go by what conventional wisdom says, you may make some progress, but not nearly enough, as the article explains.

For me quality is the deciding factor in most things. Let me explain – if you decide to become a vegetarian because you are convinced it is the healthiest way to eat, but you eat conventionally grown or GMO produce, how healthy do you think it will be? If, on the other hand, you decide to do the Paleo diet and eat meat and dairy from conventionally raised cows, you are feeding yourself antibiotics, hormones and chemicals. Doesn’t sound very healthy to me.

I agree – there are simple lifestyle changes anyone can make to improve the quality of their health. Simple, of course, doesn’t necessarily mean easy. And even though it sounds pretty straightforward, such as, “eat a healthy diet” – you need to understand what that really means otherwise you may do yourself more harm than good.

Where do you get reliable advice for improving your health?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for either my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you; or my free 7 Days to Feeling Great Challenge? If you have 10 minutes a day you can learn healthier habits in 7 short days! Easy, simple and FREE! Better yet – get both!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Diabetes, Heart Health, Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Health and Lifestyle: It Pays to Get Specific

  1. Great info Ann. I’m going to forward this to a few people.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne
    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I got a vegetarian magazine one time and was shocked to see it was all about animal rights and nothing to do with health. It showed which fast food restaurants served French fries that are cooked in vegetable oil. 🙂 Even with eating organic, there is a difference between eating nutrient dense foods like green leafy vegetables and eating lots of starchy vegetables. Thanks for keeping us aware.

  3. Cam says:

    This is one of the things that definitely challenge vegetarians like myself. 🙂
    For the most part, I try to stay away from the boxed “instant” style meals, but even so, I know it is really just a small step. I definitely could be better in this area.

    Thanks for sharing and for challenging me to think more in this area.
    ~Cam

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

