Health: Before You Go to The Doctor…

doctor and patientI absolutely LOVED this article, which was written by a doctor, by the way! She suggests some common sense, practical things we should all do before running to the doctor immediately for every little thing.

Now don’t get me wrong, when a doctor is needed, I will not hesitate. One of my sons was battling a bad cold and I had told him what supplements he could take and what to do. Normally, that is sufficient and he feels better quickly and it resolves without any problems. However this time he called me – from work – which raised a big red flag for me. He is always way too busy to call during a work day so I know if he does, something is either wrong or he has some great news.

Well, he was sitting in his office with his coat on, drinking a cup of hot tea and shivering, he was so cold. He asked me what else he could do. I told him it sounded like he had a fever and I didn’t want him to mess with it but to get in to see a doctor ASAP. Thankfully he was able to do that and it turned out to be strep throat. We have to use common sense.

However, with that being said, I know way too many people who run to the doctor for every little sniffle and ache. My personal opinion is that there is so much we can and should be doing proactively to prevent disease and also that we can do to help ourselves heal, that calling the doctor shouldn’t be the first thing you do in every instance. (Actually I believe prayer should be the first step, asking God what He says to do.) Keep in mind that according to a new study, at least one in 20 U.S. patients is misdiagnosed by his or her doctor. That is over 12 million annually! Food for thought.

I especially love what she considered #1 because it is my #1 as well – improve your diet and nutrition and so many other things fall into place! And it is really not as difficult as we make it out to be. I wish she was in my area – I would go to her in a heartbeat.

What are your thoughts about what this doctor shared in this article?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for either my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you; or my free 7 Days to Feeling Great Challenge? If you have 10 minutes a day you can learn healthier habits in 7 short days! Easy, simple and FREE! Better yet – get both!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Diabetes, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health: Before You Go to The Doctor…

  1. Elyssa Smith says:

    OH man, Ann! What a great article! I think it’s hilarious that the author says that, to doctors, the intestines are like the outer space of medicine! And that so many problems get solved when we get off the “sugar train.” And I love your comment about prayer being a first resort, instead of a last resort. I met someone recently who told me a story about her 6-yr-old. He got sick at school and went to the nurse’s office. As the nurse checked his temp, looked in his throat, and tried to figure out what was wrong, she noticed he was getting progressively agitated with her. When she asked him what was wrong, he replied impatiently, “I’m waiting for you to pray for me!” In his house, the first thing they do is pray! And then they decide how serious the issue is and what to do about it. Love the article, love your thoughts on it – thank you for finding great content to share and get us thinking!

  2. Great advice Ann!

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

