Health: Addicted…to Bad Habits?

Junk food addiction“The rate of obesity in the U.S. has more than doubled since the 1970s; two-thirds of U.S. adults are overweight or obese; research also shows that the heaviest Americans have become even heavier the past decade; 31.8% of children and adolescents are considered overweight or obese; 30.4% of low-income preschoolers are overweight or obese.”

I took those statistics from this article. I’ve read before that studies have shown that eating a high refined carbohydrate diet stimulates the same areas of the brain linked to substance abuse and dependence. In fact, I wrote a post about a finding that Oreos are as addictive as cocaine not that long ago.

You can read the article – the researchers conclude that restricting fast digesting, high glycemic carbs could help people reduce cravings and avoid overeating. I just wonder how many people would know what specific foods to eliminate, what to replace them with and be willing to do that. Very often people will use genetics as their excuse. Their whole family has always been overweight, so they are doomed. It’s been proven numerous times that we are much more influenced by epigenetics than we are by our own genes. Epigenetics is the science of how environmental factors influence your genes to express normally or abnormally, which results in health or disease.

I am not disputing the fact that you could be born with certain inherited genes that could cause health problems. Research shows, however, that your environment, lifestyle and habits – what you eat, drink, do, think, believe and are exposed to – is much more likely to affect your genes and your health!

So, yes, I believe certain processed, refined foods could cause you to crave and become addicted to them. In fact, I know they are created to do just that! I think the more important factor is to acknowledge that rather than feeling trapped by “bad genes” we need to acknowledge we have inherited some unhealthy habits and focus on changing them, since we can.

Do you believe most people are victims of bad genes or bad habits they’ve grown up with?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for either my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you.  If you are serious about changing nutritional habits and getting healthier, my 3 Day Diet Makeover is a fast, easy and affordable step in the right direction!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Weight loss, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health: Addicted…to Bad Habits?

  1. debwilson2 says:

    Wouldn’t it be nice if the broccoli and healthy foods were addictive instead of the bad ones? 🙂 I enjoy healthy foods, but I find the refined ones really do set up cravings. Happens every Christmas and in between when they are around.

    • amusico says:

      It would be nice Debbie – unfortunately the processed foods are engineered to addict us – but I have found that once you eliminate the chemicals and additives from the processed foods the healthy ones taste delicious again and the processed ones taste awful. It doesn’t take that long to retrain taste buds as I’m sure you’ve found after the holidays. (I experience the same thing after the holidays by the way!)

  2. Actually I have seen bad habits override good genes in my family! Unfortunately the next generation followed the same bad habits. 

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

