Health: Can Being Too Clean Hurt Your Baby?

cleanliness fanatic“Germs are essentially nature’s vaccines, gradually training the innate immune system how to react properly to the many foreign substances that it will encounter throughout life… Germs and bacteria are meant to be encountered naturally, and avoiding them can leave the body more susceptible to disease.”

Ok I will admit I have NEVER been accused of being a “clean freak” or a “cleanliness fanatic.” That is not to say my house is a filthy pigsty. Far from it. I can’t stand clutter and I certainly like things clean and orderly. But I am not a fanatic about it. And that was especially true when my children were small. As much as our family room constantly strewn with toys used to get on my nerves every now and then, I must admit I kind of miss that messiness. (But that’s another post entirely!) However, where other moms were disinfecting everything their children could possibly touch, I was more concerned with feeding them good food and getting them outside to play.

Well imagine my delight upon reading this article that talks about how early exposure to allergens and bacteria build a stronger immune system in children. God created our bodies with an effective immune system and when it is allowed to do its job it works beautifully.

We should teach our children good health habits and washing their hands often and covering their mouths when they sneeze or cough is not only wise but considerate. However, I think we can go overboard and become “germophobes.” Not only does it create psychological problems, but as the article explains, it can cause health problems as well.

Do you consider yourself a cleanliness fanatic?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader.

And if you are a mom who wants help in creating healthier meals and habits for her children, click this link to learn about my Healthy Children Nutritional Evaluation.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Health: Can Being Too Clean Hurt Your Baby?

  1. I have been called a clean freak but I think I’m more of an organization freak. I agree that God created our bodies with effective immune systems and they Will operate properly if we allow.

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

    • amusico says:

      Well I’ve NEVER been called a clean freak – but I absolutely cannot stand clutter and messiness. That is a different thing though.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Very fascinating, and it makes sense. I knew there had to be a good reason not to spend too much time house cleaning!

  3. Susan says:

    I believe too many people are germophobes these days and are way too into hand sanitizers and over cleanliness. I think that people go too far and their kids end up not being able to develop a strong immune system.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

