Health: Surprising Worst Source of Trans Fats

non dairy coffee creamer“Sure, foods containing trans fat taste great and stay fresh longer, but they are also bad for your health in a multitude of ways, including raising bad cholesterol, lowering good cholesterol and increasing inflammation. Also known as “trans fatty acids” and “partially hydrogenated oils,” trans fat is created by adding hydrogen to vegetable oils and can be found in a shocking number of foods.”

Most of us are aware of the dangers of trans-fats and also know that margarine, shortening, commercial baked goods and fried foods contain them. But one you may be unaware of is non-dairy coffee creamers, as this article points out.

Knowing all the possible dangers of consuming these unhealthy fats, it is best to use some organic half and half or even organic heavy cream in your coffee. There are also almond and coconut milk “creamers” you can try if you prefer to go dairy free.

And of course, as I mentioned in a previous post, you can always put a tablespoon or two of unsalted, pastured butter in your coffee or tea for a creaminess and health boost.

Do you use non-dairy creamer in your coffee and did you think it was a “healthier” alternative than cream or half and half?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. When you do, why not sign up for either my free weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report as well and I will send you my free report, 30 Easy & Simple Steps for Healthier Living – Spirit, Soul and Body, as my gift to you. Or choose my free 7 Days to Feeling Great Challenge! If you have 10 minutes a day you can learn healthier habits in 7 short days! Easy, simple and FREE! Better yet – why not get both!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Health: Surprising Worst Source of Trans Fats

  1. I use this stuff every day even though I know it’s bad.  

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    I use So-Delicious coconut creamer. I think it is delicious. I even make blender ice cream out of the French Vanilla with pistachio nuts.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

