Healthy Weight Loss: Why Umami is Your Friend Plus 5 More Sources

umami foodsI talked in last week’s post about retraining taste buds and appreciating all 5 different flavors: salty, sweet, sour, bitter and umami. Let’s talk about umami this week. The word is from a Japanese word that means “pleasant savory taste.” It makes foods taste heartier, “meaty,” boosting feelings of satisfaction, helping you to eat less, and possibly resulting in weight loss.

That could be a great help for those who are trying to lose weight. As Dr. Mercola explains in this article umami is chemically similar to MSG, which is a brain excito-toxin we should all avoid. There is a huge difference, however, between synthetically manufactured MSG (monosodium glutamate) and umami, which is the natural form of glutamate, glutamic acid.

Using natural forms of umami foods beats synthetic every time as MSG has been found to cause weight gain!

Dr. Mercola’s second article lists these 5 natural umami-containing foods you can include in your meals:

Mushrooms
Truffles
Green Tea
Seaweed
Ripe Tomatoes

I would like to add these glutamate-rich foods (which are all in the Today’s the Day Plan) to expand the possibilities and make losing weight even more effortless:

1. Grass-fed, grass-finished beef, and especially savory stocks made from the bones
2. Chicken (the bones are especially rich in umami so use them to create a satisfying broth) and obviously be sure to choose free range, organic
3. Tuna, sardines and anchovies
4. Carrots
5. Aged cheeses like parmesan and cheddar

Some ways to enhance the umami flavor in these foods is to use a little natural, unprocessed sea salt, which will bring out this flavor in foods like mushrooms and tomatoes! Pan or oven roasting mushrooms to create carmelization will boost that umami flavor. I find including them in chicken or turkey burgers gives them a beefy flavor!

Combine some of these foods to intensify umami – for instance:

A slice of ripe tomato and melted cheddar on your grass-fed burger;
Sauteed mushrooms, especially shiitake, in a burger or on top of a grass-fed steak;
A savory, slow cooked tomato sauce fortified with a bit of parmesan cheese.

How can you use umami to help you in your weight loss efforts?

If you enjoyed this article, why not click “follow” and subscribe to this blog so you get new posts in your email automatically. If you want even more tips on how to successfully lose weight and get healthy and fit, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Twitter and Pinterest.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Weight Loss: Why Umami is Your Friend Plus 5 More Sources

  1. Ann. You wrote this post specifically for me for me. I must confess I was a full time MSG consumer. I have cut it out in my own cooking but from time to time I do eat at some restaurant that cook with it. In the Caribbean, we use a bouillon called Maggi. It is so flavorful. It was my husband who brought to my attention that the version I used has MSG. That was after years of using it. There is a version in the supermarket that do not contain MSG, but it does not taste the same. I’m glad that there are natural MSG. I grow rosemary, basil and cilantro in my garden to give my food flavor. I wish there was a umami herb. One thing I can say, we have to be careful what we put in our body because it can taste so good but be so bad. I used to think Maggi was just a Caribbean thing but it is all over the world. here is an article form the New York time that addressed it years ago – http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/05/dining/05glute.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

    MSG is bad but if you have been cooking with it for the majority of your life it is so hard to let it go. It took me years to cut it out in my cooking. I felt that my food did not taste good.My grandmother cooked with it, my mother cooked with it and I still have family that cook with it. I feel that MSG is almost addictive. I know for a fact that I cannot purchase the Maggi with MSG. I would fall back in the trap.

    • amusico says:

      Marie thank you so much for sharing that link and your personal experience! I can imagine that the dishes you remember from your childhood just don’t taste the same when made without the Maggi! The good news is that over time we can retrain our taste buds and the food may not taste exactly the same as when we were children (I don’t think it ever does) but it will begin to taste good in a new way. I give you a great deal of credit for making those changes.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

