Healthy Foods: Connection Between Salt and Autoimmune Disease

salt“Processed foods and the loads of nutrient-stripped salt that they typically contain could be a leading cause of autoimmune disease, according to new research.”

We’ve all heard the experts tell us (for years!) to stop using salt to avoid high blood pressure. Last week I shared a post explaining why real, natural, unprocessed salt is very different from processed, white table salt and why it is the ratio of sodium and potassium and the quality of the salt that is important.

New research shows that those who eat a diet heavy in fast foods, notoriously high in processed salt content, are more vulnerable to an increased risk of developing autoimmune diseases. This highly processed sodium chloride was found to cause inflammation which is a precursor of autoimmune (and all) disease.

I’m sure it won’t surprise you to learn that the food items from the fast food restaurants contained extremely high salt content. The article explains how processed table salt causes immune system T cells, which are key to our defense system, to malfunction.

Natural, unprocessed salt was not found to cause the same response in the body. Because it is a real, natural food in the form God created, it is loaded with minerals our bodies need and is recognized and properly used by our bodies. In fact, those minerals are critical to life and health.

“In water, salt dissolves into mineral ions. These conduct electrical nerve impulses that drive muscle movement and thought processes. Just the simple act of drinking a glass of water requires millions of instructions that come from mineral ions. They’re also needed to balance PH levels in the body.” Dr. Barbara Hendel, researcher and coauthor of the book Water & Salt: The Essence of Life.

Are you still using processed, white, table salt?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healthy Foods: Connection Between Salt and Autoimmune Disease

  1. Ann, 

    I haven’t heard about salt being related to autoimmune diseases.  I use regular salt but I also use Celtic sea salt too. I busy bought some pink salt as well.

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, when you introduced me to the pink salt I immediately bought some. I love pink! I still use regular sea salt and Celtic sea salt too. Do you remember me telling you about how eating raw salads and smoothies started causing me to cough. I think it was related to our construction work. My airways were irritated. As the dust has settled so has my cough. I can enjoy salads and smoothies again!

    • amusico says:

      That is wonderful news Debbie! Both about the pink salt and the fact that now that the dust has settled (in more ways than one I suspect!) so has your cough! How great that you can enjoy salads and smoothies again!

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

