Healthy Living: This is Your Brain on Sleep

SleepingYou need adequate sleep each night even though your brain actually doesn’t sleep. It is constantly working even when you sleep! We tend to try and get every little bit of benefit out of every waking moment. Too many of us would probably just skip sleep altogether and work around the clock to boost our productivity! But you have to understand that sleep is not just dead time – it is very productive.

The different organs and systems in your body are restored and repaired during sleep. So that means when you miss sleep, organs or systems that should have had restoration and repair time, didn’t. If that happens often enough, it will impact your health. That includes your brain. It uses your sleep time to do brain detox by flushing out toxins and waste products and facilitating restoration.

According to study researcher Maiken Nedergaard, M.D., D.M.Sc., the co-director of the University of Rochester’s Center for Translational Neuromedicine:

“The brain only has limited energy at its disposal and it appears that it must [choose] between two different functional states — awake and aware or asleep and cleaning up… You can think of it like having a house party. You can either entertain the guests or clean up the house, but you can’t really do both at the same time.”

Besides repairing and growing new brain cells, during sleep you consolidate and strengthen the memory of what you learned as well as boosting your brain’s power and ability to learn. It also helps you manage emotions more effectively. Have you ever noticed that when you don’t get enough sleep you tend to fly off the handle more easily, you over-react to things more and just feel more emotional?

Chronic sleep deprivation has been linked to obesity, diabetes, hypertension, and research published in the journal Neurobiology of Aging suggests that people with chronic sleep problems may develop Alzheimer’s disease sooner than those who sleep well.

I hope this convinces you of the importance and benefits of sleeping well. That’s why it is one of my core 3-D Living Program keys.

How much sleep do you get each night?

Don’t miss my FREE  3 Ways to Start the New Year Healthy (and stick with it!) teleseminar. How would it feel to learn 3 simple, foundational steps you will be able to apply to any changes you want to make – health or otherwise? That’s what I want to share with you this Saturday, January 17th at 11 am ET. This is a FREE, 30 minute call and I promise you will come away with practical, actionable steps. Sign up right here!

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Diabetes, Heart Health, Overall Health and Wholeness, Rest and Reboot, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy Living: This is Your Brain on Sleep

  1. debwilson2 says:

    I know lack of sleep affects my response to life. Life is a lot more fun when I’m rested. Good to know sleep is good for your health too! Thanks, Ann.

  2. Angela says:

    I can always tell when I don’t get enough sleep on a given night. I’m just not as focused and on top of my game the next day. I try to go to bed around the same time each night especially during the week nights.

    • amusico says:

      I relate to that Angela. I also find myself dragging by 1 or 2 pm when I usually have plenty of energy for the whole day. Getting to bed about the same time each night is a very good habit.

  3. I aim for 8 hours per night, but it’s generally less than that due my “baby” (aka the cat) that wakes me up during the night. J I love my sleep and I can definitely tell the difference when I don’t get proper sleep.

    Have a Victorious Day!

    Marianne

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

