Healthy Treats: We All Scream for Ice Cream

Breyers Ice CreamIce cream is a favorite treat for kids of all ages. When my kids were small I chose Breyer’s vanilla most often because it had the fewest ingredients and I could pronounce and understand them all. But I had no idea that the milk itself was from cattle being administered Monsanto’s rBST growth hormone.

Even organic milk has BST, a hormone created by the cow’s pituitary gland. However, the Monsanto version uses a genetically engineered E.coli bacteria, which has been banned in numerous other countries, but not here for some reason.

It’s gratifying to see that Breyers has decided to stop using milk from cows treated with this artificial growth hormone meant to make the cattle produce at least an extra gallon of milk per day. Ben and Jerry’s already made this change years ago and in fact are in the process of going GMO free. Good for them!

Companies are beginning to listen and that makes me happy, although we should never have been in this position to begin with.

If you eat ice cream, what brand do you usually buy?

*I will be back posting weekly very shortly – in the meantime I hope you enjoyed this post!

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Healthy Treats: We All Scream for Ice Cream

  1. debwilson2 says:

    So happy to hear from you again! We like Talenti gelato and So Delicious Coconut milk ice cream products.

  2. Ann,

    Glad to see a post from you!  I had a Ben and Jerry’s favorite but they discontinued it.  I eat Mayfield now.

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

  3. Ah, always refreshed by your posts and your wisdom, Ann! So glad you are healing…and so excited that this is the time of year we do scream for ice cream! Thank you for the pure and honest nutrition nuggets you share! God bless you and your heart for HIM!

  4. Erin Robison says:

    Ann, that’s great information! Ice cream is taking a big hit here in Texas with our favorite Blue Bell being recalled. I have no idea about their hormones use. But all the Monsanto stuff is crazy! How did we get here and continue to fall in these lines? Sheesh. Thanks for giving me some great alternatives. 🙂

    • amusico says:

      I’m glad the information was helpful to you Erin. I have no idea how our country fell into this shameful condition regarding our food supply. It’s shameful and downright frightening! Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

