Healthy Foods: You Could Be Getting Chemicals You Didn’t Expect

Evaporated Cane Juice Crystals In the corporation's efforts to avoid using the word "sugar" on their "ingredient" lists, they come up with some pretty interesting alternates. It's sugar, folks.  Do they think we are stupid?

Evaporated Cane Juice Crystals
In the corporation’s efforts to avoid using the word “sugar” on their “ingredient” lists, they come up with some pretty interesting alternates.
It’s sugar, folks. Do they think we are stupid?

Fast food, packaged processed foods, basically junk – none of it is healthy. My definition of whether a food is healthy is whether it actually nourishes your body and doesn’t poison it with toxins. Those toxins include artificial sweeteners and chemicals of all kinds, GMOs, hormones, antibiotics and pesticide residues. I don’t think it is asking too much that our food actually be, well, food!

I was shopping at my local ShopRite last weekend and considered buying a rotisserie chicken. I like the convenience of having it roasted and ready to break down and use for sandwiches and other quick meals. Aside from the extra sodium they usually contain, a rotisserie chicken isn’t a horrible option for a quick protein source when you are short on time. I decided to read the ingredient list on the label and lo and behold, the last ingredient  on the list was sucralose! Yes, the dangerous artificial sweetener in the chicken! Needless to say, I didn’t purchase it. I have noticed sucralose in mouthwashes and toothpastes as well – and I avoid them too. It just emphasizes the importance of reading labels on everything!

We can’t just assume we know what is in the food we’re eating unless we have prepared it ourselves using ingredients we have carefully chosen. We certainly cannot entrust our safety and health to government agencies and we can’t assume they are telling us the whole truth. Sad but true.

I just read a wonderful book called The Food Babe Way: Break Free From the Hidden Toxins in Your Food and Lose Weight, Look Years Younger and Get Healthy in Just 21 Days. Vani Hari aka the Food Babe is a food activist and just recently due to her efforts Panera Bread is making some healthy changes to the foods on their menu.

It just serves as a reminder that we must make our voices heard and let these companies know we will not settle for unhealthy, toxic foods.

Do you regularly read food labels carefully?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To follow me and get even more tips on how to live your life in 3-D as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report, follow me on Pinterest and Twitter!

Make gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Children's Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Foods: You Could Be Getting Chemicals You Didn’t Expect

  1. If I’m trying to get something healthy then yes.  If I’m buying junk then why bother?  It’s best just to buy unprepared food to avoid the additives.  Of course you already know that.   Who would expect sugar or sucrslose in chicken? 

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

    • amusico says:

      When I was first home from the hospital my brother brought over several rotisserie chickens since I need protein with every meal. It’s such a fast easy source when you don’t have the time or can’t, as I couldn’t, prepare it from scratch. But once I saw this, I will definitely carefully read the labels – this is still prepared food. And yes, I was shocked to see sucralose in roasted chicken.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

