Health: There are no Guarantees and Trust Your Gut!

digestive systemWell, I am happy to be back posting regularly again. I appreciate everyone who has followed my blogs. I want to share my experience in the following series of posts because I feel that what happened to me and the things I have (and am) learning from this experience may help someone else.

So I’ll briefly tell you what happened without getting into all the nitty-gritty details and then we’ll go from there. It all began as I went to my dentist for a routine cleaning. There is one tooth that had a deeper pocket depth so she suggested putting an antibiotic in the pocket to help shrink it. I honestly didn’t give it a second thought and agreed.

The very next day I noticed I was gassy, bloated and constipated. I did not connect that in any way to the visit to the dentist the previous day but chalked it up to something I must’ve eaten differently. Well fast forward to the middle of the next week when I was still not able to go to the bathroom. I decided to look up the antibiotic and see if constipation could be a side effect and sure enough it was a possible side effect.

Knowing about nutrition and gut health, I was doing all the things I knew to do in order to get things moving but nothing seemed to be working. I ended up going to the doctor when a week passed with nothing passing! She prescribed a laxative which I used although it didn’t do anything. I went back when we were 2 weeks with no movement. Again, she prescribed a different laxative and a stool softener but said if that didn’t work by Monday to call. It didn’t work and they suggested I take 4 doses a day of an awful laxative I especially never wanted to take “until I go.”

Well as we were approaching 3 weeks of constipation needless to say I was miserable. I couldn’t eat, could barely even get a few sips of water down and looked like I was 6 months pregnant. I called a gastroenterologist I got a referral for and begged for an appointment the next day. Long story short – I got in to see her; she ordered a CT scan and upon reviewing that I was admitted to the hospital that Friday night with a severe colon blockage that would end up necessitating emergency surgery.

The dentist and even one or two of the nurses said they were familiar with the antibiotic and didn’t believe it could cause this problem. However, I knew it was the only thing that was different and the symptoms began the very next day so I didn’t care who believed me or didn’t – I knew it caused this for me. So lesson one for me is to trust your gut! No matter what anyone (doctor, expert – I don’t care who!) says, you know your body better than anyone and you can experience a side effect no one else has – yet.

I am a holistic health coach. I am more knowledgeable than most about nutrition and try to do my best to nourish my body with high quality food and supplements. I once heard Dr. Oz say he “does everything right” and was shocked that he had colon polyps. Well I won’t tell you that I “do everything right” because I don’t think anyone does – including me. I do my best, but I know I’m not perfect. However, I am one of those people who never gets sick and when this happened to me it shocked everyone who knows me because they said – “but you’re the healthiest person I know.” Lesson #2 is that you can do everything you know to do and do your best – but there are no guarantees. We live in an imperfect world and we are imperfect people.

So do your best but don’t beat yourself up if and when something unforeseen happens. And always trust your instincts even if no one else agrees with you. I’ll continue with this in the next post.

Do you trust your instincts when you experience an unusual symptom even if everyone tells you it can’t be from what you think?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Health: There are no Guarantees and Trust Your Gut!

  1. Journeygirl says:

    Hello,  I want to thank you for this excellent post. I’ve just recently signed up to receive your posts via email and this is my first one.   I am a sister in Christ, an advocate of naturally grown raw foods and have spent most of my adult life teaching fitness classes. I love what you stand for along with your recognition that we can do our best while trusting God and with no guarantees.  Thanks again for posting this and I look forward to more.  

  2. Ann,

    I am so sorry that you had to experience the devastating negative effects of an antibiotic, BUT GOD will work something good from it.

    I know that I can and should trust my instincts, but I think I have a habit of ignoring symptoms when I should be praying about them.

    Have a Victorious Day!

    Marianne

  3. Pingback: Healthy Weight Loss: Avoid These if Weight Loss is Your Goal | Today'sTheDay

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

