Health and Healing: Attitudes Matter

doctor speaking to patientI am more than willing to give anyone the benefit of the doubt. Anyone can have a bad day and be impatient, irritated or rude. We all have those days. However, it seems to me that those who must work closely with people – whether they are teachers, counselors, coaches or doctors – must be even more aware that the way they speak to and treat people will not only reflect on them personally, but could affect someone’s life in a very tangible and meaningful way.

A rude, impatient teacher can turn a young child away from learning and even convince them that they are not very smart when that couldn’t be further from the truth. We’re all entitled to a “bad day” here and there but when it is the norm – then it is a problem.

Well, I deal with the physician’s assistant in my primary care doctor’s office because she is easy to talk to, very knowledgeable, open to using natural methods and listens. I feel very comfortable with her. I saw her twice during the time before I ended up in the hospital and she did her best to guide me and give me the best advice she could, while being very supportive and understanding. She was not going to be in the office the following Monday but told me to call and let the doctor know whether what she recommended worked for me.

Well I called that Monday and left him a message. He did call me back early that afternoon and when I told him what I was told to do was not working, he got very aggravated – very rude in how he spoke to me and simply said to continue doing what he said until it worked. If I had followed his instructions I might not be here writing this post to you today.

Well, he may have been having a bad day, I don’t know. But truthfully, that’s not my problem. I wasn’t rude to him in return but believe me I was tempted. I then felt calling the gastroenterologist was my next step and that turned out to be the right one.

If I was to judge ALL doctors by the way this one treated me – I would have a very negative attitude about the medical profession in general. I remembered that the reason I always chose the physician’s assistant over him was because he always seemed to have a curt, arrogant attitude in dealing with me, which absolutely turned me off to the point that I avoided even going to his office unless absolutely necessary.

In the hospital there was an older gentleman who was the critical care doctor. He came in and spoke to me and checked on me daily. He had such a gentleness about him – was so patient to explain things I had questions about and to show compassion and concern in his manner that he absolutely restored my faith.

This was another lesson for me. I realized in a very clear and fresh way how important my interactions with people are. It may seem like a very brief, unimportant thing – but you never know how what you say and how you say it will impact someone’s life.

How has someone’s manner affected your opinion of them or their profession?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Overall Health and Wholeness, Soul Health, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health and Healing: Attitudes Matter

  1. You are so right Ann.  I have been on both sides of bad interactions and it never helps.   I’ve heard it said that if people don’t like me they won’t like my God.  That’s a good reason to be polite.  

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I’ve met both kinds of people too. What a difference attitude makes. It can make the difference on whether I go back to someone or not.

    • amusico says:

      In all honesty, I have chosen to switch my primary provider because of this experience and several others. I believe in always giving people the benefit of the doubt but it is so critical to be comfortable with someone you entrust your health care to.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

