Health and Wholeness: How Dry I Was!

woman drinking waterIf you’ve read my newsletters or blogs for any length of time you know that staying properly hydrated is one of the key principles of health in my opinion. Nothing works optimally if you are dehydrated. You can’t digest your food well, you can’t detox from the daily onslaught of toxins we are exposed to, you can’t lose weight, you can’t even process emotions effectively! And now a study has revealed that even mild dehydration is equivalent to being over the drunk driving limit in terms of driver errors. Chronic, unacknowledged dehydration can even affect conditions like cholesterol and diabetes as this article relates!

I have made it my habit to drink at least one-half my body weight in ounces of water daily (and usually more) and include ¼ tsp of unprocessed, natural salt for every 32 oz., which enables the water to actually penetrate and hydrate your cells. Well before I ended up in the hospital and was home I was so blocked and so full I was not only unable to eat much (resulting in losing 13 lbs) I was also barely able to get a few sips of water down a day.

I was so miserable and uncomfortable that I did the best I could but it was woefully inadequate. Well when I was in ICU right after my surgery all I wanted was water and of course with a tube down your nose and throat you can’t drink anything. But my mouth was so dry!

Once I was out of ICU and in a regular room I was allowed to have clear liquids and my liquid of choice was water. But even though I was drinking water and they were continually giving me fluids intravenously, I wasn’t putting much out. I was so dehydrated that as quickly as the fluids would come in my cells were sucking it up! It took about 2 days of this to finally get to the point where my body was processing the fluids normally.

I would never want to allow myself to get into that situation ever again! You feel weak, lethargic and have trouble thinking clearly since your brain is mostly water and will feel the effects of dehydration first. It didn’t take long for it to happen (a matter of days) and thankfully we were able to reverse it fairly quickly as well. But I want to urge you to be sure to stay properly hydrated at all times.

Do you intentionally drink enough water to keep yourself well hydrated?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Brain health, Diabetes, Digestive Health, Emotional Health, Heart Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness, Weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Health and Wholeness: How Dry I Was!

  1. marcytravis says:

    Ann, this article makes me so happy that I increased my water intake years ago. When I was younger, I didn’t drink water at all. Just juice, coffee, and soda. It makes perfect sense that our body needs water to wash out the toxins and push them through the filtering systems in our body.

    Thanks for the reminder.. it is so easy to slip in efforts to drink adequate water. And drinking water is especially important as our summer weather is here.

    Great post as usual!

  2. Bri says:

    Really good post! People don’t realize how easy it is to become dehydrated – they think it’s only something that happens in the hot summer months when they are outside!

    I also recently wrote a post about hydration becausse it is such an important topic and so few people really get it I find. Thanks for the great post 🙂
    https://younghouseandhome.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/are-you-drinking-enough-water-signs-you-may-be-chronically-dehydrated/

    • amusico says:

      Thank you and I read your article – excellent with a lot of great information. This is a foundational principle that way too many people overlook. They think drinking “liquids” is the same as drinking water but it definitely is not.

  3. Journeygirl says:

    Thank you for this post.  It served as a reminder to further research the benefits and uses of Epsom salt.  🙂  Have a great day!

  4. I have been much better about drinking water daily over the last several years. I did not know about adding the salt to the water, though. Thanks, Ann!

  5. Wow!  Glad you got rehydrated.  I drink a lot of water most of the time.  I rarely even drive to the store without water. 

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

