Healthy Living: Are You Willing to Do Something Different?

Think outside the boxWhile I’ve never been very overweight, there have been several times in my life when I’ve needed to lose a few pounds. After each of my pregnancies and when I was in my early 40’s and began gaining weight even though I wasn’t eating differently and still exercised daily. That particular time led to developing my Today’s the Day plan which is how I eat normally.

So having to gain weight was a very new experience for me when I got home from the hospital. I had lost 13 pounds going down to a very skinny 93. I needed to gain back what I’d lost when I was unable to eat and drink normally and while I was in the hospital. The doctor would not perform the reattachment surgery if I remained that much underweight and I needed to get my strength back.

For someone like me who normally eats very clean and doesn’t eat grains or starchy carbs during the week, my family was a little concerned that I wouldn’t be willing to not only eat more than normal but foods I wouldn’t normally eat in order to gain back this weight I’d lost.

Well they were worried for no reason because my main goal and focus was to regain my strength, health and energy and putting those pounds back on was a priority. While I was determined to make it “healthy weight gain” I was still open to eating foods I would not normally include in my daily meals.

For example I added two slices of sprouted whole grain toast with pasture butter to my breakfast omelet. I included rice, potatoes and even macaroni and cheese as side dishes for lunch and dinner. I couldn’t even remember the last time I had a sandwich for lunch, but my daughter made me a delicious turkey sandwich which became a favorite lunch during that time. My brother mentioned that when he ate peanut butter sandwiches he gained weight, so a peanut butter and banana sandwich became a standard “snack” for me.

One of the nurses who came to check on me weekly mentioned one of her children was a very picky eater, very tall and thin and she started buying him Naked Juice Smoothies. I told her while the doctor recommended Ensure or Boost, I couldn’t stomach their chemical taste and she suggested the juice smoothies – particularly the protein ones which have over 400 calories per bottle. Well I bought several to try and loved them although they generally have more sugar than I like to consume. I also made a small whey protein shake with a tablespoon of peanut butter and a banana on some days.

I learned that in order to accomplish my goal I had to think outside the box, be willing to eat differently than I normally do and keep my focus on regaining my health. While I won’t continue including grains, breads and starchy carbs daily once I have reached my goal and can begin eating normally again – I am grateful to be able to do so in order to accomplish what I need to. I think the bottom line is that we have to remain open and flexible and willing to not only do things differently but to learn from the experience.

Are you willing to change your usual way of eating or doing things to accomplish the greater goal?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Digestive Health, Nutrition, Overall Health and Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healthy Living: Are You Willing to Do Something Different?

  1. I’m glad you were flexible. I find the foods you added temporarily so easy to grab when you’re hungry. I need to cut some of them out!

  2. So sorry you had to go through that enduring health crises but glad to see the positives coming from it.  I would like to think that i am willing but actions speak louder than words.  I have changed a lot but i know i need to make more changes.   Thank you for the inspiration!  

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

    • amusico says:

      Thank you Marianne and I’m glad if what I share can be an inspiration for you or anyone else. While I would not choose to do this ever again, I can see God has used it for my good in so many ways.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

