Healthy Life: Priorities!

prioritiesThe day after I got out of ICU my son Matthew had come to spend the week with us. He came and spent each day in the hospital with me. He is a social media consultant and I depend on him for help in what and how to handle that aspect of my coaching business. Well he offered to post messages on Facebook so that the clients and others who follow my posts would know that there was going to be an interruption and in a very general way why. And he did. He also did a wonderful newsletter post letting subscribers know what was going on.

One of my dear friends saw the posts and sent me a very concerned and actually angry text saying she saw the posts and was disappointed that I was not, as she put it, “being a very good patient.” She thought I was just pressing on with work “as usual” and was concerned that it would hinder my healing. I had to laugh at how she scolded me in that long text. I replied letting her know I was nowhere near a computer and didn’t intend to be for quite some time and that Matthew took care of this for me. Needless to say, she was very relieved and apologized.

That really pointed up the importance of priorities for me. I am one of those push through and get it done types of people. My friends and family know this about me and I’m sure they were all afraid I would not give myself enough time to heal before I insisted on getting back into work full force.

However, besides the fact that physically I was just not able – I was really weak and exhausted – especially those first weeks, I was also looking at the whole of my life and realizing I was blessed to still be here and I didn’t want to take that for granted. I decided I would take as long as I needed to in order to fully heal and recover and regain my strength and health. At that time, I would re-evaluate how I want to continue with my coaching and perhaps make some changes, which I am still working on.

I love what I do and working with people but I also love my family and being healthy is a big part of living the kind of life I want to live. I want to be able to take care of my family, not just contributing financially, but in all the other ways that add up to providing a warm, loving and happy home. I took the time to focus not only on healing my physical body but also to strengthen my faith and build up my spiritual health.

I spent time in God’s Word, I spoke healing scriptures over myself daily and was blessed to have my friend, Debbie W. Wilson, send me a copy of her beautiful bible study, “Give Yourself a Break: Discover the Secrets to God’s Rest.” Talk about a perfect study for me at this time – it is wonderful, insightful and I highly recommend it!

Did I have times where I worried that I wouldn’t be able to get back fully into the swing of things? Sure. Did I wonder if I would still find women who wanted to work with me? Definitely. Did I think maybe this might be the end of my coaching business? Yes. There were times. However, I believed that God was giving me a second chance (in so many ways) and that I would be foolish not to fully immerse myself in doing what I felt was needed to get strong, spirit, soul and body.

People say that without your health you have nothing – but often times it is said in a very glib way. I can honestly say that these words have taken on even more meaning and importance for me. I have always known the importance of properly caring for my temple, but I truly see it in a deeper way after having gone through this experience.

What takes priority in your life?

Want to see more articles like this? Subscribe to this blog (just click on “Follow”) and get each new post delivered to your email or feed reader. To get more simple, practical nutrition tips, as well as getting exclusive information on giveaways and special offers, be sure to like me on Facebook, sign up for my FREE weekly No-Nonsense Nutrition Report and follow me on Twitter and Pinterest.

Make simple, gradual changes. Boost health, vitality and energy. Become your best YOU.

About amusico

I am a holistic health coach and independent nutritional consultant. All my coaching plans are based on my 3-D Living program and a big part of that are the Youngevity Products and Supplements I proudly offer! Visit my website at http://www.threedimensionalvitality.com and learn more about the products and my coaching plans!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Healthy Life: Priorities!

  1. Journeygirl says:

    Hello Ann, You said you spoke healing scriptures over yourself daily.  May I ask what scriptures you used?  I’ve been working on doing that for myself as well in different areas.   Thank you 🙂

  2. debwilson2 says:

    Ann, I’m so thankful you gave yourself permission to be still and be loved by God in your time of healing. I know how hard that can be for us worker bees. My natural tendency is to give myself so much time and, if I’m not better, then begin to fret. The Lord is graciously teaching me to receive my limits as venues to receive His love and grace. Thanks for the plug for my book, too! 🙂

  3. I know what i think my priorities are,  but i can see that what i do doesn’t always line up with my perceived priorities.   I am so glad that you rested and allowed others to help you.   That’s a great picture of how God wants us to rest in His provision.

    Have a Victorious Day!  Marianne

    Sent via phone so please excuse typos and brevity.

Share your thoughts - what do you think about this?

